Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Jul 15, 2024)Opportunity O-BJA-2024-172032

BJA FY24 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY24 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program is a closed federal other opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was July 24, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $59M, with about 550 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments and city or township governments. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.606 (State Criminal Alien Assistance Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. May 30, 2024Posted
  2. Jul 24, 2024Application deadline
Posted
May 30, 2024
Close date
Jul 24, 2024
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$59,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Original deadline (extended)
Jul 15, 2024
Expected awards
550
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Other
Opportunity category
Other

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ), Office of Justice Programs (OJP), Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) seeks applications for funding.

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety, protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.

With this solicitation, BJA seeks to make payments under the statutorily required State Criminal Alien Assistance Program (SCAAP) to eligible states and units of local government that incur certain types of costs due to incarceration of “undocumented criminal aliens” during the July 1, 2022, through June 30, 2023, reporting period.

This program furthers the DOJ’s mission to uphold the rule of law, to keep our country safe, and to protect civil rights.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.606

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$210M
FY25$145M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.606. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
SCAAP@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY24 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments and City or township governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY24 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $59m and the agency expects to make about 550 awards.

How do I apply for “BJA FY24 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2024-172032), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday