Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was May 15, 2024)Opportunity O-BJA-2024-172045

BJA FY24 Rural and Small Department Violent Crime Reduction Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY24 Rural and Small Department Violent Crime Reduction Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was May 23, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $300K, with about 15 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include county governments, city or township governments and federally recognized tribal governments. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.039 (Rural Violent Crime Initiative).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 19, 2024Posted
  2. May 23, 2024Application deadline
Posted
Mar 19, 2024
Close date
May 23, 2024
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$300,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Original deadline (extended)
May 15, 2024
Expected awards
15
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

With this solicitation, BJA seeks to support small and rural agencies in their efforts to combat violent crime through the implementation of a comprehensive violent crime reduction strategy.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.039

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$7.39M
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.039. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 16.039

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 30 grant awards had funding actions under Rural Violent Crime Initiative, with 4 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. NATIONAL POLICING INSTITUTE$4.41M
  2. JUSTICE AND SECURITY STRATEGIES, INC.$1.4M
  3. SAUK COUNTY$300K
  4. CITY OF PASSAIC$300K
  5. CITY OF LONG BEACH$300K
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY24 Rural and Small Department Violent Crime Reduction Program”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: County governments, City or township governments and Federally recognized tribal governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY24 Rural and Small Department Violent Crime Reduction Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $300k and the agency expects to make about 15 awards.

How do I apply for “BJA FY24 Rural and Small Department Violent Crime Reduction Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2024-172045), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.036
Award range
Up to $750K
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today