Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenOpportunity O-BJA-2026-172718

BJA FY 2026 DNA Capacity Enhancement for Backlog Reduction (CEBR)—Formula Grants Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 2026 DNA Capacity Enhancement for Backlog Reduction (CEBR)—Formula Grants Program is an open federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). Applications are due October 29, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $3.5M, with about 140 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, public colleges & universities and 1 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.036 (Comprehensive Forensic DNA Analysis Grant Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 21, 2026Posted
  2. Oct 29, 2026Application deadlinenext date
Posted
Sep 21, 2026
Close date
Oct 29, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$3,500,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
140
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Other

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Units of Local Government: For the purposes of this NOFO, “other units of local government” include towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a state.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2026 DNA Capacity Enhancement for Backlog Reduction (CEBR)—Formula Grants Program. This opportunity will support states and units of local government with existing crime laboratories that conduct DNA analysis to process, and/or to increase the capacity to process, more DNA samples for entry into the Combined DNA Index System (CODIS), thereby helping to reduce the number of forensic DNA and DNA database samples awaiting analysis and/or to prevent a backlog of forensic and database DNA samples.

Additional information from the agency ↗

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.036

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$105M
FY25$254K
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.036. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 16.036

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 174 grant awards had funding actions under Comprehensive Forensic DNA Analysis Grant Program, with 8 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY$3.24M
  2. FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF LAW ENFORCEMENT$3.14M
  3. GEORGIA BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION$2.81M
  4. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE CALIFORNIA$2.67M
  5. STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA DEPT OF JUSTICE$2.46M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

When is the deadline for this opportunity?

According to the official notice, applications are due October 29, 2026. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Public colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $3.5m and the agency expects to make about 140 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2026-172718), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.036
Award range
Up to $750K
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
OpenALN 16.039
Award range
Up to $2.64M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday