Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2024-172049

BJA FY24 Upholding the Rule of Law and Preventing Wrongful Convictions Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY24 Upholding the Rule of Law and Preventing Wrongful Convictions Program is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was May 15, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $1.2M, with about 12 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, public colleges & universities and 6 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.746 (Capital Case Litigation Initiative).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Mar 20, 2024
Close date
May 15, 2024
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$1,200,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
12
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

State, county, or local public defender offices that have in-house post-conviction representation programs that show demonstrable experience and competence in litigating post-conviction claims of innocence. If the applicant is not a WCR entity, they must be partnered with one.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

With this solicitation, BJA seeks to support efforts by both wrongful conviction review (WCR) entities, which represent individuals with post-conviction claims of innocence to review individual cases, and conviction integrity or review units (CIUs) to enhance criminal justice system integrity. This includes a category to select a training and technical assistance (TTA) provider to ensure WCR and CIUs entities and the field obtain the skills, training, and information on the latest practices to safeguard the integrity of convictions and support post-conviction review of claims of wrongful convictions. The TTA provider will also build and maintain a database for the field on exonerations.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.746

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$7.68M
FY25$2.63M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.746. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY24 Upholding the Rule of Law and Preventing Wrongful Convictions Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY24 Upholding the Rule of Law and Preventing Wrongful Convictions Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1.2m and the agency expects to make about 12 awards.

How do I apply for “BJA FY24 Upholding the Rule of Law and Preventing Wrongful Convictions Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2024-172049), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

Closes todayALN 16.076
Award range
Up to $3M
Closes
Oct 8, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today