Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2024-172090

BJA FY24 STOP School Violence Program Competitive Solicitation

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY24 STOP School Violence Program Competitive Solicitation is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was June 12, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $2M, with about 79 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, independent school districts, public colleges & universities and 5 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.839 (STOP School Violence).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Apr 17, 2024Posted
  2. Jun 12, 2024Application deadline
Posted
Apr 17, 2024
Close date
Jun 12, 2024
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
79
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Units of local government, such as towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a state

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

With this solicitation BJA seeks to increase school safety by implementing solutions that will improve school climate. Solutions include school-based behavioral threat assessments and/or intervention teams to identify school violence risks among students, technological innovations that are shown to increase school safety such as anonymous reporting technology, and other school safety strategies that assist in preventing violence.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.839

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$35.6M
FY25$84M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.839. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 16.839

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 466 grant awards had funding actions under STOP School Violence, with 110 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. THE INSTITUTE FOR INTERGOVERNMENTAL RESEARCH, INC.$3.73M
  2. GEORGE MASON UNIVERSITY$3.64M
  3. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO$3.2M
  4. THE CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL OF PHILADELPHIA$2.34M
  5. NEWARK COMMUNITY STREET TEAM INC$2M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY24 STOP School Violence Program Competitive Solicitation”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY24 STOP School Violence Program Competitive Solicitation”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2m and the agency expects to make about 79 awards.

How do I apply for “BJA FY24 STOP School Violence Program Competitive Solicitation”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2024-172090), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today