BJA FY24 National Community Courts Initiative
At a glance
BJA FY24 National Community Courts Initiative is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was June 24, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $900K, with about 10 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, federally recognized tribal governments and 2 more. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.585 (Treatment Court Discretionary Grant Program).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Apr 30, 2024Posted
- Jun 24, 2024Application deadline
- Posted
- Apr 30, 2024
- Close date
- Jun 24, 2024
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $900,000
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- 10
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Public or private entities acting on behalf of a single treatment court through agreement with State, city, township, county, or tribal governments; and, Units of local government, such as towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a State
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
With this solicitation, BJA seeks to support efforts by state, local, and federally recognized American Indian tribal governments to establish and enhance community courts in their jurisdictions. This program furthers the DOJ’s mission by providing resources to communities to enhance public safety and build trust between law enforcement and the community.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 16.585
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY24 National Community Courts Initiative”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “BJA FY24 National Community Courts Initiative”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $900k and the agency expects to make about 10 awards.
How do I apply for “BJA FY24 National Community Courts Initiative”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2024-172116), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program
Bureau of Justice Assistance- Award range
- Up to $2.5M
- Closes
- Oct 30, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
U.S. Department of Justice FY26 Coordinated Tribal Assistance Solicitation Notice of Funding Opportunity
Bureau of Justice Assistance- Award range
- Up to $5.6M
- Closes
- Oct 15, 2026
- Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments and Others (see notice)
OJJDP FY 2026 Juvenile Drug Treatment Court Program
Office of Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention- Award range
- Up to $1M
- Closes
- Oct 29, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 1 more
BJA FY 2026 National Center for Veterans Justice
Bureau of Justice Assistance- Award range
- Up to $4M
- Closes
- Oct 30, 2026
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
BJA FY 2026 Tribal Civil and Criminal Legal Assistance
Bureau of Justice Assistance- Award range
- Up to $600K
- Closes
- Nov 6, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula
Bureau of Justice Assistance- Award range
- Up to $4.96M
- Closes
- Oct 9, 2026
- Who can apply
- County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments and 2 more