Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2024-172254

BJA FY24 Invited to Apply- Community Violence Intervention and Prevention Initiative Training and Technical Assistance Initiative

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY24 Invited to Apply- Community Violence Intervention and Prevention Initiative Training and Technical Assistance Initiative is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was September 20, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $2M, with about 6 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.045 (Community-Based Violence Intervention and Prevention Initiative).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 10, 2024Posted
  2. Sep 20, 2024Application deadline
Posted
Sep 10, 2024
Close date
Sep 20, 2024
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
6
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Only applicants that received an official request from BJA to apply for funding to continue work on a specific prior grant award from BJA are able and eligible to apply. Applications will only be accepted from the following: • Latino Coalition for Community Leadership • Metropolitan Family Services • Local Initiatives Support Corporation (up to 2 applications) • The Community Based Public Safety Collective • Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

With this solicitation, BJA will fund five training and technical assistance (TTA) providers to support grantees in the Office of Justice Programs’ (OJP) Community Violence Intervention and Prevention Initiative (CVIPI) and to provide supplemental funding to one site based grantee selected through this program in FY2024. OJP’s CVIPI seeks to prevent and reduce violent crime in communities by supporting comprehensive, evidence-based violence intervention and prevention programs, including efforts to address gang and gun violence based on partnerships among community residents, local government agencies, victim service providers, community-based organizations (CBOs), law enforcement, hospitals, researchers, and other community stakeholders. CVIPI is an OJP initiative, and BJA and its partners reviewed and recommended applications for funding in FY2022 and FY2023. In FY2022, the OJP awarded three national TTA providers under two national training and technical assistance-oriented categories: 6 and 7; and awarded three intermediary awards who will support training and technical assistance as well as provide funding to community-based organizations to enhance local or capacity of CVI organizations in category 5. In FY2023, BJA made additional awards including partially funding a state level award to the State of Illinois. OJP did not have sufficient funding to fully fund this recommended award and noted its plan in the approved FY23 CVIPI funding recommendations memo to provide the remaining funding with FY2024 funding.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.045

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$86.5M
FY25$33.6M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.045. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Places named in the notice

Illinois

Derived from the notice text. A place being named does not by itself restrict eligibility.

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2m and the agency expects to make about 6 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2024-172254), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.