Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2025-172672

BJA FY25 Forensic Ballistics and Higher Education Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY25 Forensic Ballistics and Higher Education Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was September 14, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $1.21M, with about 1 award expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.051 (Crime Gun Intelligence Training and Education).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Aug 5, 2026Posted
  2. Sep 14, 2026Application deadline
Posted
Aug 5, 2026
Close date
Sep 14, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$1,207,403
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Educational Organizations: Private, public and state-controlled institutions of higher education with established academic programs in criminal justice, forensic science, or related field.

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Private colleges & universities
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2025 Forensic Ballistics and Higher Education Program. This program enables public and state-controlled institutions of higher education to partner with local law enforcement and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) to develop or build upon current specialized curricula that provide comprehensive forensic education in firearm ballistics and crime gun intelligence (CGI). Since foundational curricula in crime gun intelligence, National Integrated Ballistic Information Network (NIBIN) operations, and forensic ballistics have already been developed and piloted, this NOFO will support hands-on training for students to gain proficiency and competency in firearms evidence processing, ballistic analysis using NIBIN, CGI generation, and investigative methodologies that support criminal apprehension and conviction.
The program will increase the pipeline of trained professionals entering the forensic science and law enforcement workforce while building sustainable partnerships between higher education and law enforcement agencies to combat violent gun crime. This funding opportunity will expand geographic reach and create replicable frameworks for national dissemination.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.051

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24—
FY25$1.31M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.051. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY25 Forensic Ballistics and Higher Education Program”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY25 Forensic Ballistics and Higher Education Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1.21m and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for “BJA FY25 Forensic Ballistics and Higher Education Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2025-172672), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.036
Award range
Up to $750K
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today