Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2026-172706

BJA FY 2026 Crisis Response Training Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 2026 Crisis Response Training Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was October 5, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $650K. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, public colleges & universities, federally recognized tribal governments and 3 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.065 (Training to Improve Police-Based Responses to the People with Mental Illness).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Aug 25, 2026Posted
  2. Oct 5, 2026Application deadline
Posted
Aug 25, 2026
Close date
Oct 5, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$650,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Units of local government; Public and state-controlled institutions of higher education with on-campus police departments; Public or state-controlled hospitals with on-campus police departments. For the purposes of this NOFO, other units of local government include towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a state.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2026 Crisis Response Training Program. This opportunity supports state, local, and tribal governments, law enforcement agencies, correctional facilities, probation and parole departments, and sheriffs’ offices in developing, implementing, or expanding crisis response training programs that enhance public safety, officer safety, and operational effectiveness by improving law enforcement responses to individuals in crisis who have behavioral health conditions (including mental health and substance use disorders), intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DDs), physical disabilities, and/or traumatic brain injuries. This program will equip law enforcement and correctional officers with tactical skills and strategies, and technology to effectively address crisis situations and enhance public safety. Officers trained in crisis intervention techniques are better equipped to safely mitigate volatile situations involving individuals experiencing behavioral health crises, including those with I/DDs.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.065

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24—
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.065. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 2026 Crisis Response Training Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY 2026 Crisis Response Training Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $650k.

How do I apply for “BJA FY 2026 Crisis Response Training Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2026-172706), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.