Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenOpportunity O-BJA-2026-172763

BJA FY 2026 Residential Substance Abuse Treatment for State Prisoners – Formula Grants Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 2026 Residential Substance Abuse Treatment for State Prisoners – Formula Grants Program is an open federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). Applications are due November 20, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $2.2M. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.593 (Residential Substance Abuse Treatment for State Prisoners).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Oct 8, 2026Posted
  2. Nov 20, 2026Application deadlinenext date
Posted
Oct 8, 2026
Close date
Nov 20, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,200,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Other

Who can apply

  • State governments

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY2026 Residential Substance Abuse Treatment (RSAT) for State Prisoners Formula Grants Program. This opportunity provides formula grant funding to enhance the capabilities of state, local, and tribal governments to support residential substance use disorder (SUD) treatment to adult and juvenile populations in detention or incarceration, initiate or continue evidence-based SUD treatment in jails, prepare individuals for reintegration into the community, and assist them and their communities throughout the reentry process by delivering community-based treatment and other recovery aftercare services. This NOFO will increase access to treatment for individuals with substance use or co-occurring substance use and mental health disorders in detention or incarceration and improve continuity of care during and after reentry by delivering community-based treatment and other broad-based aftercare services.

Additional information from the agency ↗

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.593

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$30.1M
FY25$665K
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.593. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

When is the deadline for this opportunity?

According to the official notice, applications are due November 20, 2026. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2.2m.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2026-172763), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.585

BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today