Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJS-2021-60012

FY 2021 Local Jail Reporting Program (LJRP) Pilot Test

Bureau of Justice Statistics · Department of Justice

At a glance

FY 2021 Local Jail Reporting Program (LJRP) Pilot Test is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Statistics (Department of Justice). The application deadline was June 14, 2021. Individual awards are listed as $250K – $500K, with about 1 award expected and $500K in total estimated funding. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.734 (Special Data Collections and Statistical Studies).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Apr 26, 2021Posted
  2. Jun 14, 2021Application deadline
Posted
Apr 26, 2021
Close date
Jun 14, 2021
Award floor
$250,000
Award ceiling
$500,000
Est. total funding
$500,000
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Unrestricted (any entity type)

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Department of Justice is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights, increases access to justice, supports crime victims, protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.

The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is seeking applications for funding to conduct a pilot test of the Local Jails Reporting Program (LJRP), a new jail-data collection of individual-level jail inmate administrative records. The LJRP will capture jail bookings with timestamps and information on the circumstances of admission and release. It will also collect data on a one-day snapshot of the jail population, including demographic and criminal justice characteristics of inmates, such as offense or charge, bail and temporary release, court disposition, and sentence. The data collected from the LJRP will be used solely for statistical and research purposes. The LJRP will describe the movement of arrested persons through the jail system. In particular, the individual-level booking data will be key to understanding important issues, such as pre-trial detention, the use of bail and temporary release, and jail recidivism (by linking records of the same individuals). Approximately 11 million people are admitted to the more than 3,000 local jails each year. The sheer volume of associated jail records represents not only a unique opportunity for jail research, but also a challenge to efficiently capture, process, and analyze administrative data from different jail jurisdictions. The 2021 pilot test aims to collect data from about 10 of the largest local jails in the United States. About 6% of the total jail population will be covered. Through the pilot test, BJS will explore best practices to gain jail support for the LJRP and to deal with complex administrative booking data. If funding is available, BJS will consider gradually increasing collection coverage in future years.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.734

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$12.3M
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.734. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Statistics
AskBJS@usdoj.gov
0000000000

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “FY 2021 Local Jail Reporting Program (LJRP) Pilot Test”?

The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.

How much funding is available through “FY 2021 Local Jail Reporting Program (LJRP) Pilot Test”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $250k – $500k, total estimated program funding is $500,000 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for “FY 2021 Local Jail Reporting Program (LJRP) Pilot Test”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJS-2021-60012), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 19.040

Funding for New Counter-Disinformation Game

U.S. Mission to the Netherlands
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Aug 19, 2021 (est.)
Who can apply
Others (see notice)
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.103
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Dec 1, 2022 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, Special district governments and 10 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today