Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJS-2022-171363

FY 2022 National Pretrial Reporting Program

Bureau of Justice Statistics · Department of Justice

At a glance

FY 2022 National Pretrial Reporting Program is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Statistics (Department of Justice). The application deadline was June 17, 2022. Individual awards are listed as $500K – $1M, with about 1 award expected and $1M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.734 (Special Data Collections and Statistical Studies).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jun 10, 2022Posted
  2. Jun 17, 2022Application deadline
Posted
Jun 10, 2022
Close date
Jun 17, 2022
Award floor
$500,000
Award ceiling
$1,000,000
Est. total funding
$1,000,000
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Continuation

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

RTI International To advance Executive Order 13929 Safe Policing for Safe Communities, the Attorney General determined that all state, local, and university or college law enforcement agencies must be certified by an approved independent credentialing body or have started the certification process to be eligible for FY 2022 DOJ discretionary grant funding. To become certified, the law enforcement agency must meet two mandatory conditions: (1) the agency’s use-of-force policies adhere to all applicable federal, state, and local laws and (2) the agency’s use-of-force policies prohibit chokeholds except in situations where use of deadly force is allowed by law. The certification requirement also applies to law enforcement agencies receiving DOJ discretionary grant funding through a subaward. For detailed information on this certification requirement, please visit https://cops.usdoj.gov/SafePolicingEO to access the Standards for Certification on Safe Policing for Safe Communities, the Implementation Fact Sheet, and the List of Designated Independent Credentialing Bodies. All recipients and subrecipients (including any for-profit organization) must forgo any profit or management fee.

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and racial equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety and protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community. The proposed fiscal year (FY) 2022 supplemental award for the National Pretrial Reporting Program (NPRP) will provide funding from January 1, 2023 to September 30, 2024, expanding the data collection effort to include an additional sample of 50 counties and conduct the attendant outreach, nonresponse follow-up, and data processing and standardization efforts associated with the additional counties. NPRP aims to collect felony case-processing metrics representative of pretrial detention and release in the largest 200 counties in the U.S. The original award included funding to support (1) review of the State Court Processing Statistics (SCPS) data to inform critical data needs for NPRP, (2) expansion of the SCPS collection effort in representation to capture pretrial practices in a larger swath of the U.S. population, (3) assessment of availability and extractability of data elements through a data capacity survey in roughly 125 of the largest 200 counties, (4) conducting a pilot test with approximately ten counties, (5) executing the collection of data extracts from courts, jails, and pretrial services agencies, and (6) providing a summary of the project.

Statutory Authority: Under section 302 of the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act, BJS is authorized to "make grants to, or enter into cooperative agreements or contracts with public agencies, institutions of higher education, private organizations, or private individuals" for purposes of collecting and analyzing criminal justice data and producing reliable statistics under 34 U.S.C. § 10132(c)(1).

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.734

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$12.3M
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.734. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Statistics
askbjs@usdoj.gov
0000000000

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “FY 2022 National Pretrial Reporting Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “FY 2022 National Pretrial Reporting Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $500k – $1m, total estimated program funding is $1,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for “FY 2022 National Pretrial Reporting Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJS-2022-171363), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 19.040

Funding for New Counter-Disinformation Game

U.S. Mission to the Netherlands
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Aug 19, 2021 (est.)
Who can apply
Others (see notice)
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.103
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Dec 1, 2022 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, Special district governments and 10 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today