Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJS-2024-172117

BJS FY24 Federal Law Enforcement Agency Deaths in Custody Reporting Program, 2024-2026

Bureau of Justice Statistics · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJS FY24 Federal Law Enforcement Agency Deaths in Custody Reporting Program, 2024-2026 is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Statistics (Department of Justice). The application deadline was July 2, 2024. Individual awards are listed as $150K – $300K, with about 1 award expected and $300K in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 11 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.734 (Special Data Collections and Statistical Studies).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. May 3, 2024Posted
  2. Jul 2, 2024Application deadline
Posted
May 3, 2024
Close date
Jul 2, 2024
Award floor
$150,000
Award ceiling
$300,000
Est. total funding
$300,000
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Individuals
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Units of Local Government

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ), Office of Justice Programs (OJP), Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is seeking applications for funding.

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety, protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.

With this solicitation, BJS seeks to collect data on persons who died in the custody of federal law enforcement (LE) agencies in FY 24, FY 25, and FY 26, building on BJS’s existing efforts. The data collection will include a web-based interface to allow federal LE agencies to identify all deaths that are arrest-related or that occur in detention or incarceration facilities.

This program furthers the DOJ’s mission to uphold the rule of law, to keep our country safe, and to protect civil rights.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.734

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$12.3M
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.734. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 16.734

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 39 grant awards had funding actions under Special Data Collections and Statistical Studies, with 7 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE$5.29M
  2. ABT GLOBAL LLC$3.59M
  3. NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER$2M
  4. ICF INCORPORATED, L.L.C.$1.2M
  5. CODING IT FORWARD INC$125K
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Statistics
AskBJS@usdoj.gov
0000000000

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJS FY24 Federal Law Enforcement Agency Deaths in Custody Reporting Program, 2024-2026”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 4 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJS FY24 Federal Law Enforcement Agency Deaths in Custody Reporting Program, 2024-2026”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $150k – $300k, total estimated program funding is $300,000 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for “BJS FY24 Federal Law Enforcement Agency Deaths in Custody Reporting Program, 2024-2026”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJS-2024-172117), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 19.040

Funding for New Counter-Disinformation Game

U.S. Mission to the Netherlands
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Aug 19, 2021 (est.)
Who can apply
Others (see notice)
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.103
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Dec 1, 2022 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, Special district governments and 10 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today