Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-NIJ-2023-171560

NIJ FY23 Research and Evaluation for the Testing and Interpretation of Physical Evidence in Publicly Funded Forensic Laboratories

National Institute of Justice · Department of Justice

At a glance

NIJ FY23 Research and Evaluation for the Testing and Interpretation of Physical Evidence in Publicly Funded Forensic Laboratories is a closed federal grant opportunity from the National Institute of Justice (Department of Justice). The application deadline was April 26, 2023. Individual awards are listed as up to $1.5M. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.560 (National Institute of Justice Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Feb 2, 2023
Close date
Apr 26, 2023
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$1,500,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Individuals
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Unrestricted (any entity type)

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and racial equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety and protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.

With this solicitation, NIJ seeks proposals for rigorous research and evaluation projects that will:

Identify and inform the forensic community of best practices through the evaluation of existing laboratory protocols; and/or
Have a direct and immediate impact on laboratory efficiency and assist in making laboratory policy decisions.

The intent of this program is to direct the findings of this research and evaluation toward the identification of the most efficient, accurate, reliable, and cost-effective methods for the identification, analysis, and interpretation of physical evidence for criminal justice purposes. Projects should address the challenges and needs of the forensic science community, including, but not limited to, the operational needs discussed at the 2021 and 2022 TWG meetings, which may be found on NIJ.ojp.gov. NIJ's TWG assists in identifying and prioritizing operational needs and requirements of the field, which are intended to facilitate proposal development. Additional research needs of the forensic science community can be found at the Organization of Scientific Area Committees for Forensic Sciences website.

Applicants are encouraged to propose multidisciplinary research teams to build on the complementary strengths of different methods and areas of subject matter expertise. NIJ also seeks proposals that include consideration and measurement of issues of diversity, discrimination, and bias across age, gender and gender identity, race, ethnicity, religion, and sexual orientation, as applicable.

Applications proposing research involving partnerships with criminal justice or other agencies, should include a letter of support or Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), signed by an appropriate decision-making authority from each proposed, partnering agency. A letter of support or MOU should include the partnering agency's acknowledgement that de-identified data derived from, provided to, or obtained through, an award funded by NIJ will be archived by the grant recipient in accordance with their data archiving plan (see Data Archiving Plan under "Application and Submission Information") at the conclusion of the award. Applicants and their potential partners are encouraged to review NIJ's data archiving guidance. If selected for an award, grantees will be expected to have a formal agreement in place with partnering agencies by January 1, 2024. That formal agreement must include a provision to meet the data archiving requirements of the award.

NIJ seeks proposals that include robust, creative, and multi-pronged dissemination strategies that include strategic partnerships with organizations and associations that are best equipped to ensure that research findings lead to changes in policies and practices.

In the case of partnerships that will involve the use of federal award funds by multiple partnering agencies to carry out the proposed project, only one entity/partnering agency may be the applicant (as is the case with any application submitted in response to this solicitation); any others must be proposed as subrecipients. The applicant agency is expected to conduct a majority of the work proposed.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.560

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$57.8M
FY25$3.18M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.560. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institute of Justice
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-616-5314

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1.5m.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-NIJ-2023-171560), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 12.800
Award range
$150K – $450K
Closes
Dec 4, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.433

Field Initiated Projects Program (Development)

Administration for Community Living
Award range
$245K – $250K
Est. close
Dec 14, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today