OVC FY25 Invited to Apply Antiterrorism and Emergency Assistance Program for Crime Victim Compensation and/or Assistance - Maine
At a glance
OVC FY25 Invited to Apply Antiterrorism and Emergency Assistance Program for Crime Victim Compensation and/or Assistance - Maine is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Office for Victims of Crime (Department of Justice). The application deadline was March 24, 2025. Individual awards are listed as up to $8.53M, with about 1 award expected and $8.53M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.321 (Antiterrorism Emergency Reserve).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Mar 21, 2025Posted
- Mar 24, 2025Application deadline
- Posted
- Mar 21, 2025
- Close date
- Mar 24, 2025
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $8,526,240
- Est. total funding
- $8,526,240
- Expected awards
- 1
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
This NOFO is restricted to invited applicants and OVC will contact potential applicants directly. This is a restricted invitation because the program is intended to respond to specific cases of terrorism and mass violence. Only after OVC has consulted with an eligible organization can an application be submitted.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Office for Victims of Crime (OVC) supports victims of mass violence and terrorism through the Antiterrorism Emergency Assistance Program (AEAP). Funding for this program comes from the Antiterrorism Emergency Reserve (the Emergency Reserve). Along with non-grant training and technical assistance services, there are four types of grants that may be combined into one application: crisis response, consequence management, criminal justice support, and crime victim compensation.
AEAP grants are a mechanism by which the Director of OVC may award supplemental crime victim compensation and assistance to eligible entities responding to acts of mass criminal violence or domestic terrorism. The event must be sufficiently large that the jurisdiction cannot provide needed services to victims of the incident with existing resources, while also supporting victims of other crimes, in a timely and comprehensive manner. OVC generally accesses AEAP funds only in response to incidents that are sufficiently large in scope for the locale, and typically only where there was an unpredictable, indiscriminate, or broad targeting of victims, or otherwise unique aspect to the crime. In most cases, OVC expects States and communities to plan for and address victim needs stemming from relatively more predictable instances of gang-related violence, domestic violence, and broader community gun violence, from existing VOCA resources.
AEAP funds may be used to provide emergency relief to benefit victims such as crisis response efforts, help victims adapt to and cope with the consequences of the event over the longer-term, and facilitate victim participation in the judicial process. AEAP can also supplement state crime victim compensation administrative agencies that reimburse victims for out-of-pocket expenses related to their victimization. Funding under this program is retroactive to the date of the incident. Justification for all funding must demonstrate that AEAP funds will support victims of the incident and are supplemental to existing resources. OVC may provide a no-cost consultant(s) to help the prospective grantee with the AEAP application process.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 16.321
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Office for Victims of Crime
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-353-2138
Places named in the notice
Derived from the notice text. A place being named does not by itself restrict eligibility.
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $8.53m, total estimated program funding is $8,526,240 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-OVC-2025-172385), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
OVC FY 2026 Specialized Human Trafficking Assistance: Task Forces and Legal Services
Office for Victims of Crime- Award range
- Up to $3M
- Closes
- Dec 1, 2026
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Private colleges & universities and 3 more
OVC FY 2026 Enhanced Collaborative Model (ECM) Task Force to Combat Human Trafficking
Office for Victims of Crime- Award range
- Up to $1M
- Closes
- Oct 14, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 7 more
OVC FY 2026 Improving Outcomes for Child and Youth Victims of Human Trafficking
Office for Victims of Crime- Award range
- Up to $1.6M
- Closes
- Oct 14, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments and Federally recognized tribal governments
Tribal Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program: Development and Implementation Grants
Administration for Children and Families- Award range
- $250K – $1M
- Est. close
- Mar 2, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Others (see notice)
Intervention Research to Improve Native American Health (R34 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Lifespan Respite Care Program: State Grants
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $300K – $500K
- Est. close
- May 31, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments