Vet-LIRN Capacity-Building Project and Equipment Grants (U18)
Food and Drug Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Vet-LIRN Capacity-Building Project and Equipment Grants (U18) is an open federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Food and Drug Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due September 4, 2028. Individual awards are listed as $225K – $2.5M, with about 25 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 9 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.103 (Food and Drug Administration Research).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- May 18, 2023Posted
- Sep 4, 2028Application deadlinenext date
- Sep 5, 2028Archived
- Posted
- May 18, 2023
- Close date
- Sep 4, 2028
- Archive date
- Sep 5, 2028
- Award floor
- $225,000
- Award ceiling
- $2,500,000
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Original deadline (extended)
- Jul 1, 2023
- Expected awards
- 25
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The goal of this NOFO is to fund veterinary diagnostic laboratories in the Vet-LIRN network for grants associated with projects and equipment. Specific objectives include:
1. Supporting the development, adaptation, or verification/validation of new methods associated with animal food issues or antimicrobial resistance.
2. Short-term surveillance or monitoring efforts aligned with the CVM mission.
3. Supporting equipment for testing or developing tests associated with animal food-related issues or antimicrobial resistance, including those for emerging technologies.
4. Developing projects related to antimicrobial stewardship, in alignment with CVM's key initiatives in this area.
5. Contributing as part of Vet-LIRN's AMR monitoring program, including sequencing isolates.
6. Supporting work associated with One Health, including emerging diseases such as COVID-19, when funding is available.
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.103
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 93.103
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 991 grant awards had funding actions under Food and Drug Administration Research, with 430 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- THE CRITICAL PATH INSTITUTE$56.2M
- NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION$39.7M
- ASSOCIATION OF FOOD & DRUG OFFICIALS$29.5M
- DUKE UNIVERSITY$19.1M
- THE MEDICAL DEVICE INNOVATION CONSORTIUM$15.6M
Agency contact (as published)
Rene A Vasquez Grantor
kimberly.pendleton@fda.hhs.gov
301-796-3546
Quick answers
When is the deadline for “Vet-LIRN Capacity-Building Project and Equipment Grants (U18)”?
According to the official notice, applications are due September 4, 2028. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.
Who is eligible to apply for “Vet-LIRN Capacity-Building Project and Equipment Grants (U18)”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 2 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Vet-LIRN Capacity-Building Project and Equipment Grants (U18)”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $225k – $2.5m and the agency expects to make about 25 awards.
How do I apply for “Vet-LIRN Capacity-Building Project and Equipment Grants (U18)”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-23-202), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Animal and Veterinary Innovation Centers (U18)
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- Up to $1.25M
- Closes
- May 12, 2028
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Center for Research on Complex Generics (U18) Clinical Trials Optional
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- $1.5M
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Flexible Funding Model-Infrastructure Development and Maintenance for State Manufactured Food Regulatory Programs (U2F) Clinical Trials Not Allowed
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- $340K – $1.29M
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- State governments, Federally recognized tribal governments and Others (see notice)
Food Safety Capacity and Infrastructure Building (U2F)
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- Up to $1M
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Animal Food Regulatory Program Standards Implementation Development and Maintenance, with Mutual Reliance Initiatives Clinical Trials Not Allowed
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- Up to $300K
- Closes
- Apr 1, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments
Federal and State Integration Activities to Advance Cooperation and Regulatory Standards Among Animal Food Safety Regulatory Programs
Food and Drug Administration- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)