NIH StrokeNet Clinical Trials and Biomarker Studies for Stroke Treatment, Recovery, and Prevention (UG3/UH3 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
NIH StrokeNet Clinical Trials and Biomarker Studies for Stroke Treatment, Recovery, and Prevention (UG3/UH3 Clinical Trial Optional) is an open federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due November 19, 2026. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.853 (Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Nov 20, 2024Posted
- Nov 19, 2026Application deadlinenext date
- Dec 25, 2026Archived
- Posted
- Nov 20, 2024
- Close date
- Nov 19, 2026
- Archive date
- Dec 25, 2026
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.853, not this notice): Research grants: $22,709 to $7,753,905; $585,282. National Research Service Awards: Institutional $34,076 to $692,757; $193,304. Individual: $5,495 to $90,284; $46,239. SBIR/STTR: Phase 1 not to exceed $150,000; Phase II not to exceed $1,000,000; however with appropriate justification, budget caps for Phase I and Phase II are $225,000 and $1,500,00 respectively
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This NOFO encourages applications for multi-site exploratory and confirmatory clinical trials focused on promising interventions; biomarker or outcome measure validation studies that are immediately preparatory to trials in stroke prevention, treatment, and recovery; and ancillary studies designed to add scientific aims to active studies being conducted within StrokeNet. Successful applicants will collaborate and conduct the study within the NIH StrokeNet. Following peer review, NINDS will prioritize studies among the highest scoring to be conducted in the NIH StrokeNet infrastructure. The NIH StrokeNet National Coordinating Center (NCC) will work with the successful applicant to implement the proposed study efficiently and the National Data Management Center (NDMC) will provide statistical and data management support. The NIH StrokeNet Regional Coordinating Centers (RCCs) and their affiliated clinical sites will provide recruitment/retention support as well as on-site implementation of the clinical protocol.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.853
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 93.853
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 10,021 grant awards had funding actions under Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders, with 5,577 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION$203M
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE$173M
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$167M
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN$155M
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK$141M
Agency contact (as published)
National Institutes of Health
grantsinfo@nih.gov
301-402-2541
Quick answers
When is the deadline for this opportunity?
According to the official notice, applications are due November 19, 2026. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-25-052), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Small Business Translator: MedTech and Digital Health Technologies
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Oct 20, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
HEAL Initiative: Pain Management Effectiveness Research Network: Clinical Trial Planning and Implementation Cooperative Agreement (UG3/UH3 Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jan 5, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Notice of Intent to Publish a Funding Opportunity Announcement for Morris K. Udall Discovery Centers without Walls (DCWoW) for Parkinson's Disease Research (RM1 - Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Feb 6, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Investigate Novel Therapeutic Interventions and Testing Strategies for Neurological Disorders Including to Treat, Modify and Prevent the Development of Epilepsy (U24 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- $3.5M – $4M
- Est. close
- Feb 20, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Forecast for NINDS Exploratory Grant Program in Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Research (P20 - Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Feb 25, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Stroke Preclinical Assessment Network (SPAN) to Support Translational Studies for Acute Cerebroprotection – Network Sites and Coordinating Center (U01- CT Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Mar 18, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more