Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity PAR-26-025

Bioengineering Research, Innovation and Technology Education (BRITE) Program (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Bioengineering Research, Innovation and Technology Education (BRITE) Program (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed) is a forecasted federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of May 11, 2026; forecast dates can change. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities and private colleges & universities. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.286 (Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 22, 2025Forecast posted
  2. Feb 9, 2026 (est.)Full notice expected
  3. May 11, 2026 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Mar 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award datenext date
Posted
Sep 22, 2025
Est. close date
May 11, 2026
Est. award date
Mar 1, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.286, not this notice): FY 23 range $2,500 - $9,231,842; average $420,473 FY 24 range $5,405 - $3,565,780; average $425,722 FY 25 range $10,000 - $2,198,313; average $395,948

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • Private colleges & universities

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Bioengineering Research, Innovation and Technology Education (BRITE) Program is designed to foster the development of undergraduate freshmen and sophomores to pursue further studies and careers in bioengineering, biomedical imaging or other STEM fields relevant to NIBIB’s scientific mission. Applications are encouraged to propose integrated educational activities that include three elements: 1) a summer bridge program for incoming freshmen, and 2) in the freshman and sophomore years, educational activities during the academic year, and 3) summer research experiences. The BRITE program is intended to expose students to bioengineering and biomedical imaging and provide research, innovation and entrepreneurship training early in their college careers by incorporating didactic, experiential, mentoring and career development opportunities.

Student participants will receive support for the first two years of their undergraduate training. To enhance capacity for rigorous bioengineering training, this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) will support programs at baccalaureate degree granting institutions with modest levels of NIH research project grant funding.

The ultimate goal is for participants to pursue a doctoral degree or a subsequent research career in bioengineering, biomedical imaging or other NIBIB-relevant field that will in turn have a significant impact on the health-related research needs of the Nation.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.286

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$373M
FY25$376M
FY26$14.2M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.286. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.286

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 2,309 grant awards had funding actions under Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health, with 1,065 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION$56.7M
  2. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$48.6M
  3. BRIGHAM & WOMENS HOSPITAL INC$31.5M
  4. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY$30.7M
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, DAVIS$29.8M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Tina Gatlin, Ph.D.
gatlincl@nih.gov
240-731-3794

Quick answers

Is this opportunity open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around February 9, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-26-025), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.