Seed Instrumentation Support (SIS) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Seed Instrumentation Support (SIS) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed) is an open federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due July 1, 2028. Individual awards are listed as $50K – $400K. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.310 (Trans-NIH Research Support) and 3 other listings.
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 25, 2026Posted
- Jul 1, 2028Application deadlinenext date
- May 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
- Sep 1, 2028Archived
- Posted
- Jun 25, 2026
- Close date
- Jul 1, 2028
- Archive date
- Sep 1, 2028
- Est. award date
- May 1, 2027
- Award floor
- $50,000
- Award ceiling
- $400,000
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Refer to Section III. Eligibility Information in the NOFO for additional information on eligibility.Foreign Organizations/Foreign Collaborations:Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply.Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply.Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) aims to build new research capacity and develop a sustainable research program by supporting the purchase of a single commercially available biomedical research instrument currently unavailable in the institution. Instruments funded through this program must be shared among the users to create new research opportunities, enable reproducible data generation, encourage collaborative research and training, and strengthen long-term research capabilities. The minimum award is $50,000. While there is no limit on the total cost of the instrument, the maximum award is $400,000.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listings
What is an ALN?- 93.310Trans-NIH Research SupportProgram →
- 93.351Research Infrastructure ProgramsProgram →
- 93.855Allergy and Infectious Diseases ResearchProgram →
- 93.866Aging ResearchProgram →
Reported obligations under ALN 93.310
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
National Institutes of Health
odsig@mail.nih.gov
301-402-2541
Quick answers
When is the deadline for “Seed Instrumentation Support (SIS) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)”?
According to the official notice, applications are due July 1, 2028. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.
Who is eligible to apply for “Seed Instrumentation Support (SIS) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Seed Instrumentation Support (SIS) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $50k – $400k.
How do I apply for “Seed Instrumentation Support (SIS) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-27-021), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Mentored Research Scientist Development Award (Parent K01 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Shared Instrumentation Grant (SIG) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- $300K – $5M
- Closes
- Jul 1, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Institutional Research Training Grant (Parent T32)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 4, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
INCLUDE Project: Transformative Research Awards for Down syndrome (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $500K
- Closes
- Jun 15, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
INCLUDE Project: Exploratory/Developmental Research Awards for Down syndrome (R21 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $200K
- Closes
- Jun 15, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Change of Recipient Organization (Type 7 Parent Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jul 12, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more