Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenResearch announcementOpportunity PAR-27-077

NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) (R25 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) (R25 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed) is an open federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due May 25, 2029. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.121 (Oral Diseases and Disorders Research) and 11 other listings.

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. May 5, 2026Posted
  2. May 25, 2029Application deadlinenext date
  3. Apr 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
  4. Jul 24, 2029Archived
Posted
May 5, 2026
Close date
May 25, 2029
Archive date
Jul 24, 2029
Est. award date
Apr 1, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.121, not this notice): FY2023: research project grants: range $10,355-$3,198,621, average $493,453; NRSA: range $12,200-$645,669, average $102,286; SBIR/STTR: range $44,553-$1,265,448, average $734,953; Career development: range $19,566-$283,536, average $151,550. FY2024: research project grants: range $14,491-$3,134,285, average $499,286; NRSA: range $2,500-$689,065, average $117,487; SBIR/STTR: range $44,553-$1,493,635, average $721,489; Career development: range $12,905-$282,170, average $156,332.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Refer to Section III. Eligibility Information in the NOFO for additional information on eligibility.Foreign Organizations/International Collaborations:Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply.Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply.Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The NIH Research Education Program (R25) supports research education activities in the mission areas of the NIH. The overarching goal of this NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) program is to support educational activities that increase understanding of biomedical research among pre-college (pre-kindergarten to grade12) individuals, and to encourage awareness of and continued interest in careers in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listings

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.121

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$320M
FY25$332M
FY26$337M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.121. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.121

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 2,560 grant awards had funding actions under Oral Diseases and Disorders Research, with 1,599 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE$48.7M
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN$48.5M
  3. UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA$41.7M
  4. UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION$41.5M
  5. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE$35.4M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institutes of Health
NIGMS_SEPA@mail.nih.gov
301-402-2541

Quick answers

When is the deadline for “NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) (R25 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)”?

According to the official notice, applications are due May 25, 2029. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for “NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) (R25 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for “NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) (R25 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-27-077), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.