Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed

Assistance Listing 93.279

Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs

Department of Health and Human Services · National Institutes of Health

Assistance Listing 93.279, “Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs,” is a federal program administered by Department of Health and Human Services. It provides grant and cooperative agreement assistance. GrantsJunction currently tracks 96 open, 11 forecasted and 8 closed opportunities under this listing. The agency reported $1.34B in obligations for fiscal year 2025.

Program objective

To support basic, clinical, translational, and implementation research in the field of substance use. To develop new knowledge and approaches for the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of drug use, misuse, and addiction, drug overdose, and related health outcome, including HIV/AIDS. To support research training and research scientist development. To support dissemination of research findings. Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) legislation is intended to expand and improve the SBIR programs to emphasize and increase private sector commercialization of technology developed through Federal SBIR research and development; increase small business participation in Federal research and development; and foster and encourage participation of socially and economically disadvantaged small business concerns and women-owned small business concerns in the SBIR program. The Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) legistlation is intended to stimulate and foster scientific and technological innovation through cooperative research and development carried out between small business concerns and research institutions; foster technology transfer between small business concerns and research institutions; increase private sector commercialization of innovations derived from Federal research and development; and foster and encourage participation of socially and economically disadvantaged small business concerns and women-owned small business concerns in technological innovation.

As published in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing.

Current opportunities under 93.279

All 107 →

Eligible applicants (program level)

  • Foreign Non-Government Not-for-Profit Organization
  • Municipality or Township government (inclusive of cities, towns, boroughs (except in Alaska), and villages)
  • Public Housing Authority
  • Foreign Non-Government Nonprofit Organization
  • For-Profit Organization
  • Nonprofit Organization
  • U.S. State Government (including the District of Columbia)
  • U.S. Territory (or Possession) Government (including freely-associated states)
  • Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government
  • Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government (Other than Federally Recognized)
  • Foreign Non-Governmental For-Profit Organization
  • Not-for-Profit Organization
  • Other
  • Tribally Designated Housing Authority

Eligible organizations determined at the NOFO level

Intended beneficiaries: State, Local, Public nonprofit institution/organization, Scientist/Researchers, Other private institution/organization and Private nonprofit institution/organization.

Program-level eligibility from SAM.gov. Each funding notice sets its own requirements.

Reported obligations by fiscal year

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$1.25B
FY25$1.34B
FY26$20.2M est.

Range and average of financial assistance (from the listing): Range-$5,724 to $27,502,167, Average-$621,479

Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.279. Hatched bars are agency estimates. These totals do not indicate approval rates.

Recently closed under 93.279

Closed opportunities under 93.279
OpportunityStatusAward rangeClosesALN
ClosedAmount not specifiedOct 1, 202693.279
ClosedAmount not specifiedSep 30, 202693.279
ClosedAmount not specifiedSep 28, 202693.173, 93.213, 93.242, 93.273, 93.279, 93.286, 93.853, 93.865, 93.866, 93.867
ClosedAmount not specifiedSep 28, 202693.173, 93.213, 93.242, 93.273, 93.279, 93.286, 93.853, 93.865, 93.866, 93.867
ClosedAmount not specifiedSep 7, 202693.279
ClosedAmount not specifiedJan 8, 202693.121, 93.233, 93.242, 93.279, 93.313, 93.393, 93.396, 93.399, 93.837, 93.838, 93.839, 93.840, 93.846, 93.847, 93.853, 93.866
ClosedAmount not specifiedJan 8, 202693.121, 93.233, 93.242, 93.279, 93.313, 93.393, 93.396, 93.399, 93.837, 93.838, 93.839, 93.840, 93.846, 93.847, 93.853, 93.866
ClosedAmount not specifiedNov 2, 201247.041, 47.049, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.079, 47.080, 93.173, 93.213, 93.242, 93.273, 93.279, 93.286, 93.853, 93.865, 93.867

Frequently asked questions

What is ALN 93.279?

93.279 is the Assistance Listing Number for “Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs.” Assistance Listing Numbers (formerly CFDA numbers) identify federal assistance programs; individual grant opportunities reference the listing they are funded under.

Who can apply under ALN 93.279?

The SAM.gov listing names these applicant types: Foreign Non-Government Not-for-Profit Organization, Municipality or Township government (inclusive of cities, towns, boroughs (except in Alaska), and villages), Public Housing Authority, Foreign Non-Government Nonprofit Organization, For-Profit Organization, Nonprofit Organization, U.S. State Government (including the District of Columbia), U.S. Territory (or Possession) Government (including freely-associated states), Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government, Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government (Other than Federally Recognized), Foreign Non-Governmental For-Profit Organization, Not-for-Profit Organization and 2 more. Each funding notice under the program sets its own eligibility, so check the specific opportunity.

How much funding does 93.279 provide?

The agency reported $1,343,517,098 in obligations for FY2025 in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing. These are program-wide totals reported by the agency, not a prediction of future awards.