Biological Testing Facility for Contraception & Reproductive Health (X01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Biological Testing Facility for Contraception & Reproductive Health (X01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed) is an open federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due May 7, 2029. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.865 (Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 1, 2026Posted
- May 7, 2029Application deadlinenext date
- Feb 23, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
- Jul 6, 2029Archived
- Posted
- Jun 1, 2026
- Close date
- May 7, 2029
- Archive date
- Jul 6, 2029
- Est. award date
- Feb 23, 2026
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.865, not this notice): For research project grants, fiscal year 2024, range is $50,000 to $5,000,000; average is $534,606. Individual research fellowship awards: Basic stipend (first year beyond the doctoral degree) of approximately $45,000. The sponsoring institution will be provided, on application, with an allowance of up to approximately $8,000 per year to help defray the cost of training. No dependency allowances. SBIR: Average Phase I awards are for approximately $225,000 (grant activity R43 - for up to six months); Phase II awards may be made for amounts up to $1,500,000 (grant activity R44 - for up to two years).
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Refer to Section III. Eligibility Information in the NOFO for additional information on eligibility.Foreign Organizations/Foreign CollaborationsNon-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are eligible to apply.Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply.Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The purpose of this notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) is to provide investigators with a mechanism to request services from the state-of-the-art Biological Testing Facility that would advance their contraceptive development or reproductive health programs. This NOFO aims to position innovative and validated methods for future regulatory submission and/or clinical development. Applicants do not need to have current NIH funding to apply, but priority may be given to programs receiving NIH support at the time of application submission.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.865
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 93.865
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 6,805 grant awards had funding actions under Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research, with 5,427 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN$111M
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON$99.9M
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$92.1M
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE$77M
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE$74.4M
Agency contact (as published)
National Institutes of Health
nichd_fib_nofos@mail.nih.gov
301-402-2541
Quick answers
When is the deadline for this opportunity?
According to the official notice, applications are due May 7, 2029. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-27-111), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Small Business Translator: MedTech and Digital Health Technologies
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Oct 20, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Mentored Research Scientist Development Award (Parent K01 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Quantitative Research Development Award (Parent K25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Quantitative Research Development Award (Parent K25 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Blueprint MedTech Translator (UG3/UH3 - Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 28, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Individual Fellowship for Students at Institutions Without NIH-Funded Institutional Predoctoral Dual-Degree Training Programs (Parent F30)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2028
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 4 more