Blueprint MedTech Translator (UG3/UH3 - Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Blueprint MedTech Translator (UG3/UH3 - Clinical Trial Optional) is an open federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due January 28, 2028. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.121 (Oral Diseases and Disorders Research) and 9 other listings.
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Posted
- Jun 17, 2025
- Close date
- Jan 28, 2028
- Archive date
- Mar 4, 2028
- Est. award date
- Jul 1, 2026
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The purpose of this announcement is to encourage investigators to pursue translational activities and clinical feasibility studies to advance the development of therapeutic, and diagnostic devices for disorders that affect the nervous or neuromuscular systems. Activities supported in this program include implementation of clinical prototype devices, non-clinical safety and efficacy testing, design verification and validation activities, obtaining an Investigational Device Exemption (IDE) for a Significant Risk (SR) study or Institutional Review Board (IRB) approval for a Non-Significant Risk (NSR) study, as well as a subsequent clinical feasibility study. The clinical study is expected to provide information about the device function or final design that cannot be practically obtained through additional non-clinical assessments (e.g., bench top or animal studies) due to the novelty of the device or its intended use. This FOA is a milestone-driven cooperative agreement program and will involve participation of NIH program staff in negotiating the final project plan before award and monitoring of research progress. Participants in Blueprint MedTech receive funding for all activities to be conducted in their own laboratories. In addition, applicants will collaborate with NIH-funded consultants to receive assistance with specialty areas including regulatory, reimbursement, intellectual property, commercialization, and strategic partnerships. Participants can also augment their project with NIH contract research organizations that specialize in large animal testing, sterilization testing, biocompatibility assessment, manufacturing, and medical monitoring. Individuals, institutions, or businesses developing their own devices or that already have established collaborations with device manufacturers are welcome to apply directly to this NOFO or any of the companion opportunities. For more information see BP MedTech website.
Assistance Listings
What is an ALN?- 93.121Oral Diseases and Disorders ResearchProgram →
- 93.213Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative HealthProgram →
- 93.242Mental Health Research GrantsProgram →
- 93.273Alcohol Research ProgramsProgram →
- 93.279Drug Use and Addiction Research ProgramsProgram →
- 93.286Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human HealthProgram →
- 93.853Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological DisordersProgram →
- 93.865Child Health and Human Development Extramural ResearchProgram →
- 93.866Aging ResearchProgram →
- 93.867Vision ResearchProgram →
Reported obligations under ALN 93.121
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
National Institutes of Health
grantsinfo@nih.gov
301-402-2541
Quick answers
When is the deadline for “Blueprint MedTech Translator (UG3/UH3 - Clinical Trial Optional)”?
According to the official notice, applications are due January 28, 2028. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.
Who is eligible to apply for “Blueprint MedTech Translator (UG3/UH3 - Clinical Trial Optional)”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How do I apply for “Blueprint MedTech Translator (UG3/UH3 - Clinical Trial Optional)”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-25-383), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
NIH Research Software Engineer (RSE) Award (R50 Clinical Trials Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Dec 4, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
NIH Pathway to Independence Award (Parent K99/R00 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award (Parent K08 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 8, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Change of Recipient Organization (Type 7 Parent Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jul 12, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Research Enhancement Award Program (REAP) for Health Professional Schools and Graduate Schools (R15 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $375K
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2028
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Academic Research Enhancement Award (AREA) for Undergraduate-Focused Institutions (R15 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $375K
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2028
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice)