Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity RD-RBCS-23-REDLG

Rural Economic Development Loan and Grant

Rural Business-Cooperative Service · Department of Agriculture

At a glance

Rural Economic Development Loan and Grant is a closed federal other opportunity from the Rural Business-Cooperative Service (Department of Agriculture). The application deadline was June 30, 2023. Individual awards are listed as up to $2M, with about 40 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 10.854 (Rural Economic Development Loans and Grants).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Aug 31, 2022
Close date
Jun 30, 2023
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
40
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Other
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

To receive funding (which will be forwarded to selected eligible projects), an entity must be: A former Rural Utilities Service borrower who borrowed, repaid or pre-paid an insured, direct or guaranteed loan. Nonprofit utilities that are eligible to receive assistance from the Rural Development Electric or Telecommunication Programs.Current Rural Development Electric or Telecommunication Programs borrowers.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Rural Economic Development Loan and Grant program provides funding for rural projects through local utility organizations. USDA provides zero-interest loans to local utilities which they, in turn, pass through to local businesses (ultimate recipients) for projects that will create and retain employment in rural areas. The ultimate recipients repay the lending utility directly. The utility then is responsible for repayment to USDA.

USDA provides grants to local utility organizations which use the funding to establish Revolving Loan Funds (RLF). Loans are made from the revolving loan funds to projects that will create or retain rural jobs. When the revolving loan fund is terminated, the grant is repaid to USDA.

The Agency anticipates the following maximum amounts per award: Loans - $2,000,000; Grants - $300,000.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 10.854

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$64.9M
FY25$62.4M
FY26$62M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 10.854. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Andrew A Jermolowicz Agricultural Economist
cindy.mason@usda.gov
202-720-8460

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Rural Economic Development Loan and Grant”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Rural Economic Development Loan and Grant”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2m and the agency expects to make about 40 awards.

How do I apply for “Rural Economic Development Loan and Grant”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RD-RBCS-23-REDLG), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 10.377

Agriculture Innovation Center Grant Program

Rural Business-Cooperative Service
Award range
$600K – $1M
Closes
Jan 31, 2027
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 7 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 10.381

MPPEP Phase 3 Invasive Wild-Caught Catfish

Rural Business-Cooperative Service
Award range
$50K – $2M
Closes
Dec 7, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 6 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today