Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenResearch announcementOpportunity RFA-AG-26-011

NIA Expanding Research in AD/ADRD (ERA) Summer Research Education Program (R25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

NIA Expanding Research in AD/ADRD (ERA) Summer Research Education Program (R25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed) is an open federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due May 26, 2027. Individual awards are listed as up to $200K. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.866 (Aging Research).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 2, 2025Posted
  2. May 26, 2027Application deadlinenext date
  3. Apr 27, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
  4. Jul 1, 2027Archived
Posted
Sep 2, 2025
Close date
May 26, 2027
Archive date
Jul 1, 2027
Est. award date
Apr 27, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$200,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Regional Organizations; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) invites R25 applications to support the development and implementation of summer research education programs for high school students, undergraduates, or science teachers from all backgrounds, including those from groups underrepresented in the biomedical and behavioral sciences. It is essential to expand and broaden the skilled Alzheimer's Disease (AD) and Alzheimers Disease Related Dementias (ADRD) research workforce and provide exposure to AD/ADRD research to individuals early in their careers. The proposed research education programs will support intensive summer research experiences in the AD/ADRD field with the goal of exposing participants to AD/ADRD research and encourage further study or participation in biomedical and behavioral research.
This NOFO does not allow participants to lead an independent clinical trial, but does allow them to obtain research experience in a clinical trial led by a mentor or co-mentor.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.866

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$3.75B
FY25$3.78B
FY26$262M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.866. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institutes of Health
grantsinfo@nih.gov
301-402-2541

Quick answers

When is the deadline for this opportunity?

According to the official notice, applications are due May 26, 2027. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $200k.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-AG-26-011), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedResearchALN 93.866
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
May 25, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today