Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenResearch announcementOpportunity RFA-HL-26-012

Stimulating Access to Research in Residency (StARR) (R38 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Stimulating Access to Research in Residency (StARR) (R38 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed) is an open federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due January 10, 2028. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.837 (Cardiovascular Diseases Research) and 3 other listings.

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Aug 26, 2025Posted
  2. Jan 10, 2028Application deadlinenext date
  3. May 1, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
  4. Feb 15, 2028Archived
Posted
Aug 26, 2025
Close date
Jan 10, 2028
Archive date
Feb 15, 2028
Est. award date
May 1, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.837, not this notice): Grants: $1 to $30,000,000; $582,909. SBIR Phase I - $332,305; Phase II - up to $822,021; STTR Phase I - $247,844; Phase II - $268,497.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Regional Organizations; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The overall goal of the Stimulating Access to Research in Residency (StARR) program is to provide resident clinicians in training with in-depth research experiences early in their careers, in order to recruit, retain and accelerate independence of a pool of clinician-investigators with both clinical and research experience necessary to perform basic, clinical and/or translational research.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listings

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.837

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$1.65B
FY25$1.69B
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.837. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.837

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 12,998 grant awards had funding actions under Cardiovascular Diseases Research, with 9,253 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE$223M
  2. BRIGHAM & WOMENS HOSPITAL INC$219M
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN$215M
  4. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$203M
  5. UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION$199M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institutes of Health
grantsinfo@nih.gov
301-402-2541

Quick answers

When is the deadline for this opportunity?

According to the official notice, applications are due January 10, 2028. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-HL-26-012), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.