Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed

Assistance Listing 93.867

Vision Research

Department of Health and Human Services · National Institutes of Health

Assistance Listing 93.867, “Vision Research,” is a federal program administered by Department of Health and Human Services. It provides grant assistance. GrantsJunction currently tracks 68 open, 7 forecasted and 3 closed opportunities under this listing. The agency reported $703M in obligations for fiscal year 2025.

Program objective

The mission of the National Eye Institute is to eliminate vision loss and improve quality of life through vision research. The goal is to drive innovative research to understand the eye and visual system, prevent and treat vision diseases, and expand opportunities for people who are blind or require vision rehabilitation. Research grants and cooperative agreements 1) Support eye and vision research projects that address the leading causes of blindness and impaired vision in the U.S. These include, but are not limited to, retinal diseases; corneal diseases; cataract; glaucoma and optic neuropathies; strabismus; amblyopia; and low vision and blindness rehabilitation. 2) To increase understanding of the normal development and function of the visual system in order to better prevent, diagnose, and treat sight-threatening conditions; and, to enhance the rehabilitation, training, and quality of life of individuals who are partially-sighted or blind. 3) To encourage high quality clinical research, including clinical trials, other epidemiological studies, and health services research.

As published in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing.

Current opportunities under 93.867

All 75 →

Eligible applicants (program level)

  • Foreign Non-Government Nonprofit Organization
  • International Organization
  • Nonprofit Organization
  • For-Profit Organization
  • Tribal
  • Foreign Government
  • Foreign Non-Government Not-for-Profit Organization
  • Territorial
  • State
  • Not-for-Profit Organization
  • Local
  • Small Business Person

Eligible organizations determined at the NOFO level.

Intended beneficiaries: U.S. Citizen, Federal, Small business, Profit organization, Private nonprofit institution/organization, Student/Trainee, State, Scientist/Researchers, Public nonprofit institution/organization and Local.

Program-level eligibility from SAM.gov. Each funding notice sets its own requirements.

Reported obligations by fiscal year

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$696M
FY25$703M
FY26$864K est.

Range and average of financial assistance (from the listing): FOR 2023: Research Grants (R): $12,400 to $2,178,277; Avg $422,981. Cooperative Agreements: $10,980 to $7,324,750; Avg $1,067,398. Centers (P): $400,718 to $949,680; Avg $677,851. K (Institutional): $183,986 to $545,160; Avg $454,904. K (Individual): $15,332 to $277,133; Avg $177,182. NRSA (Institutional): $28,815 to $272,894; Avg $142,678. NRSA (Individual): $2,500 to $78,552; Avg $47,548. SBIR Phase I: $54,475 to $350,075; Avg $270,429. SBIR Phase II: $245,829 to $1,907,135; Avg $768,574. STTR Phase I: $149,664 to $341,302; Avg $273,829. STTR Phase II: $289,895 to $537,483; Avg $402,459. SBIR/STTR Phase III: none. FOR 2024 YTD: Research Grants (R): $4,455 to $2,153,230; Avg $428,107. Cooperative Agreements: $81,518 to $8,942,823; Avg $1,283,922. Centers (P): $161,000 to $947,710; Avg $654,204. K (Institutional): $285,890 to $562,320; Avg $478,162. K (Individual): $21,767 to $280,704; Avg $175,903. NRSA (Institutional): $29,506 to $555,162; Avg $144,608. NRSA (Individual): $3,000 to $81,892; Avg $51,319. SBIR Phase I: $54,709 to $365,000; Avg $259,725. SBIR Phase II: $52,865 to $1,093,927; Avg $821,791. STTR Phase I: $180,642 to $180,642; Avg $180,642. STTR Phase II: $615,858 to $975,387; Avg $767,351. SBIR/STTR Phase III: none YTD.

Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.867. Hatched bars are agency estimates. These totals do not indicate approval rates.

Recently closed under 93.867

Closed opportunities under 93.867
OpportunityStatusAward rangeClosesALN
ClosedAmount not specifiedSep 28, 202693.173, 93.213, 93.242, 93.273, 93.279, 93.286, 93.853, 93.865, 93.866, 93.867
ClosedAmount not specifiedSep 28, 202693.173, 93.213, 93.242, 93.273, 93.279, 93.286, 93.853, 93.865, 93.866, 93.867
ClosedAmount not specifiedNov 2, 201247.041, 47.049, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.079, 47.080, 93.173, 93.213, 93.242, 93.273, 93.279, 93.286, 93.853, 93.865, 93.867

Frequently asked questions

What is ALN 93.867?

93.867 is the Assistance Listing Number for “Vision Research.” Assistance Listing Numbers (formerly CFDA numbers) identify federal assistance programs; individual grant opportunities reference the listing they are funded under.

Who can apply under ALN 93.867?

The SAM.gov listing names these applicant types: Foreign Non-Government Nonprofit Organization, International Organization, Nonprofit Organization, For-Profit Organization, Tribal, Foreign Government, Foreign Non-Government Not-for-Profit Organization, Territorial, State, Not-for-Profit Organization, Local and Small Business Person. Each funding notice under the program sets its own eligibility, so check the specific opportunity.

How much funding does 93.867 provide?

The agency reported $702,696,370 in obligations for FY2025 in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing. These are program-wide totals reported by the agency, not a prediction of future awards.