Network of the National Library of Medicine Training Center (U24 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Network of the National Library of Medicine Training Center (U24 Clinical Trial Not Allowed) is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of December 15, 2026; forecast dates can change. Individual awards are listed as up to $750K, with about 1 award expected and $750K in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.879 (Medical Library Assistance).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Feb 11, 2026Forecast posted
- Aug 15, 2026 (est.)Full notice expected
- Dec 15, 2026 (est.)Application deadlinenext date
- Jul 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Feb 11, 2026
- Est. close date
- Dec 15, 2026
- Est. award date
- Jul 1, 2027
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $750,000
- Est. total funding
- $750,000
- Expected awards
- 1
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
- Fiscal year
- FY2026
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Other Eligible ApplicantsIndian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized);Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government;U.S. Territory or Possession;Faith-based or Community-based Organizations;Regional Organizations.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) intends to publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) to solicit applications for a Training Center of the Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM).
Established in 1965 and organized geographically across the United States and its territories, the NNLM promotes and supports the initiatives, products, and services of the NLM and the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Over the years, the network has expanded its impact through strategic partnerships with a broad array of member organizations, including health sciences, hospital, academic, and public libraries; health professionals; data organizations; and community-based groups.
The NNLM’s core mission is to enable the effective use of—and contribution to—health information and data made available by the NLM and NIH. The network achieves this by providing professional development for librarians and information specialists, and by supporting access to health information and outreach through libraries and community organizations. A central emphasis of the NNLM is increasing awareness of and engagement with NIH programs and resources.
While the NNLM has traditionally focused on promoting NLM-specific products, it is now poised to expand its reach across the broader NIH community. The network will play a vital role in disseminating research findings, fostering community engagement and partnerships, and supporting participation in local clinical research. In doing so, the NNLM will enhance public understanding of NIH’s contributions and increase the use of NIH-supported information and data resources.
The NNLM consists of three major components: 1) the Network Coordinating Center (NCC), 2) Regional Medical Libraries (RMLs), and 3) the Network Training Center (NTC). This announcement specifically pertains to the NTC, with companion NOFOs forthcoming for the NCC and RMLs.
The NTC will focus on supporting training across the NNLM, including developing curricula, materials, and executing synchronous and asynchronous training sessions. The NTC will work with the RMLs and NCC to continually identify training needs for a variety of audiences and design innovative and engaging learning methods. The NTC will work closely with the NCC to develop and deliver evaluation measures to ensure learner satisfaction and that learning objectives are being met.
The NTC should have strong competencies in instructional design and technology management, as well as subject-matter expertise in biomedical information and data.
Grant authority that allows NLM to forecast this opportunity is as follows: Medical Library Assistance Act of 1965 (MLAA, P.L. 89-291).
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.879
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
NLM Extramural Programs
NLMProgram@nih.gov
Please contact via e-mail.
Quick answers
Is this opportunity open for applications yet?
Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around August 15, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $750k, total estimated program funding is $750,000 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-LM-26-002), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Network of the National Library of Medicine Coordinating Center (U24 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $1.5M
- Est. close
- Dec 15, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Network of the National Library of Medicine Regional Medical Libraries (UG4 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $600K
- Est. close
- Dec 15, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Research Scientist Development Award (Parent K01 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Quantitative Research Development Award (Parent K25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Quantitative Research Development Award (Parent K25 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Research Grants in Clinical Informatics (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $250K
- Closes
- Mar 5, 2029
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more