Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity RFA-TR-26-002

Limited Competition: HEAL Initiative Resource Centers for the Pain Management Effectiveness Network (ERN) (Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Limited Competition: HEAL Initiative Resource Centers for the Pain Management Effectiveness Network (ERN) (Clinical Trial Not Allowed) is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of May 25, 2026; forecast dates can change. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.350 (National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 29, 2025Forecast posted
  2. Jan 26, 2026 (est.)Full notice expected
  3. May 25, 2026 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Aug 2, 2027 (est.)Est. award datenext date
Posted
Sep 29, 2025
Est. close date
May 25, 2026
Est. award date
Aug 2, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.350, not this notice): NCATS Assistance: $1 - $11,215,948, average: $1,718,935

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

This a limited competition. Only award recipients funded under RFA-TR-22-012 are eligible to apply.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS), with NINDS, NIA, NIDCR, NCCIH, NCI, NIAMS, NHLBI, NICHD and the NIH Helping to End Addiction Long-term (HEAL) Initiative seeks to advance its mission by renewing the HEAL Pain Management Effectiveness Research Network (ERN) Resource Centers (RCs) needed for the successful planning, implementation, and completion of rigorous large-scale multisite clinical trials (CTs). CTs will expand the suite of evidence-based effective strategies and therapeutics to alleviate pain across the continuum of acute to chronic pain associated with many types of diseases and conditions, or presenting as a disease itself.  The RCs will continue the provision of CT operational expertise, clinical coordination and safety monitoring, data coordination and biostatistical resources, and recruitment and retention support as well as access to additional clinical recruitment sites for CTs with a shared common theme of improving pain management.  RCs work within the broad consortium of NCATS Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) hubs that each may contain multiple clinical sites at different institutions, to implement studies.

Grant authorities that allow NCATS and HEAL to forecast this opportunity are 42 U.S.C 241, 284, and 247d.

This is a forecast for a limited competition Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) that will invite application(s) from eligible organizations to apply. Application(s) will be peer-reviewed and only funded if meritorious.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.350

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$596M
FY25$626M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.350. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.350

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 978 grant awards had funding actions under National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, with 1,481 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER$65.8M
  2. UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION$59.6M
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN$45.7M
  4. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE$44.7M
  5. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$42.7M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Yolanda F. Vallejo, PhD
yolanda.vallejo@nih.gov
301-451-1751

Quick answers

Is this opportunity open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around January 26, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-TR-26-002), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.