Somali Law Enforcement: Local Policing and Protection
At a glance
Somali Law Enforcement: Local Policing and Protection is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Counterterrorism (Department of State). The application deadline was June 4, 2018. Individual awards are listed as $500K – $5.97M, with $5.97M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 19.701 (Global Counterterrorism Programs).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- May 17, 2018Posted
- Jun 4, 2018Application deadline
- Posted
- May 17, 2018
- Close date
- Jun 4, 2018
- Award floor
- $500,000
- Award ceiling
- $5,974,375
- Est. total funding
- $5,974,375
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
U.S. based non-profit/non-governmental organizations (NGOs) having a 501(c) (3) status with the IRS; overseas non-governmental organizations; Foreign Public Entities and Public International Organizations (PIOs); For-profit and Commercial firms.
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Counterterrorism (CT) announces a Request for Statements of Interest and Capacity (RSOIC) to participate in a co-creation workshop to strengthen the capacity of Somali law enforcement in Mogadishu to protect critical infrastructure from terrorist attacks, secure police facilities, and serve communities affected by terrorist activity. CT will review SOICs and, based on favorable evaluation, will invite selected participants to a co-creation workshop, which will likely be held in Washington, D.C., in late June 2018. Please note that selected participants for the workshop are not guaranteed funding. The amount of resources made available under this RSOIC will depend on the concepts received and the availability of funds. CT reserves the right to fund any or none of the proposals discussed at the co-creation workshop.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Agency contact (as published)
Bureau of Counterterrorism
703-875-5117
Places named in the notice
Derived from the notice text. A place being named does not by itself restrict eligibility.
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Somali Law Enforcement: Local Policing and Protection”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Somali Law Enforcement: Local Policing and Protection”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $500k – $5.97m and total estimated program funding is $5,974,375.
How do I apply for “Somali Law Enforcement: Local Policing and Protection”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity SFOP0005020), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
U.S. Embassy Praia Ambassador’s Special Self-Help (SSH) Program
U.S. Mission to Cape Verde- Award range
- $3K – $10K
- Closes
- See notice
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Annual Program Statement (APS) For Fiscal Year 2026
U.S. Mission to Tunisia- Award range
- $10K – $200K
- Est. close
- Jun 8, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 2 more
Annual Program Statement (APS) for Fiscal Year 2025
U.S. Mission to Tunisia- Award range
- $10K – $200K
- Est. close
- Jul 6, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Individuals and 1 more
- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Feb 27, 2030
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
U.S. Embassy The Hague PD Annual Program Statement
U.S. Mission to the Netherlands- Award range
- $2K – $25K
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
Child Protection Compact Annual Program Statement
Office to Monitor-Combat Trafficking in Persons- Award range
- $5M – $10M
- Closes
- Jan 1, 2099
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)