PROACT: Community-Based Intervention Program
At a glance
PROACT: Community-Based Intervention Program is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Counterterrorism (Department of State). The application deadline was July 30, 2019. Individual awards are listed as $2.25M, with about 1 award expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 19.701 (Global Counterterrorism Programs).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 5, 2019Posted
- Jul 30, 2019Application deadline
- Posted
- Jun 5, 2019
- Close date
- Jul 30, 2019
- Award floor
- $2,250,000
- Award ceiling
- $2,250,000
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- 1
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
U.S. Based non-profit/non-governmental organizations having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS; overseas non-governmental non-profit organizations; Foreign Public Entities (FPEs); and Public International Organizations (PIOs).
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
CT seeks to develop a new, tailored, community-based interventions program in a country facing credible threats from foreign terrorist fighters (FTFs) or homegrown terrorists. Programs must be designed to address individuals who appear to be highly vulnerable to or demonstrate signs of terrorist radicalization, but who have not yet committed terrorism-related crimes.
This project has six (6) key objectives:
- Objective 1: Develop a sustainable, community-driven strategy to sensitize local stakeholders (e.g., social service providers, mental health practitioners, educators, faith leaders, local government officials, NGOs, etc.) to the early warning signs of terrorist radicalization within the local context.
- Objective 2: Recruit and build a diverse range of local stakeholders and service providers to form a multidisciplinary team to address cases of individuals assessed to be on the path to terrorist radicalization, referred by the community, including through the team, local schools and universities, families, and other community-based sources.
- Objective 3: Build awareness and increase trust between relevant community stakeholders (including law enforcement) and among service providers within the community interventions team.
- Objective 4: Build or strengthen community team stakeholders' capacities and confidence to respond effectively to instances of terrorist radicalization and recruitment through the delivery of training and technical assistance.
- Objective 5: Develop and implement a sustainability strategy for the community team model.
- Objective 6: Develop a comprehensive monitoring and evaluation framework to assess the project's effectiveness in sustaining stakeholder engagement, institutionalizing local partnerships, promoting the community-team model with local and/or national partners, and reducing support for terrorism within beneficiary populations.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
- Budget GuidelinesFull Announcement · Budget Guidelines.pdfPDF · 378 KB
- Budget TemplateFull Announcement · Budget Template Revised FInal.pdfPDF · 280 KB
- NOFOFull Announcement · NOFO FINAL 6 5.pdfPDF · 529 KB
- Proposal Submission Instructions (PSI)Full Announcement · PSIs FINAL.pdfPDF · 493 KB
- Q and A June 7Full Announcement · Q and A.docxVND. · 18 KB
- Questions and Answers July 17Full Announcement · Q & A July 17.docxVND. · 12 KB
- Questions and Answers July 18Full Announcement · Q and A July 18.docxVND. · 18 KB
- Questions and Answers July 19Full Announcement · Q and A July 19.docxVND. · 18 KB
- Questions and Answers July 22Full Announcement · Qs and A's July 22.docxVND. · 18 KB
- Questions and Answers June 12Full Announcement · Q and A June 12.docxVND. · 12 KB
- Questions and Answers July 11Full Announcement · 2019-07-10 - Q&As - Global Interventions (SFOP0005952).docxVND. · 17 KB
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Agency contact (as published)
Bureau of Counterterrorism
703-875-5117
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “PROACT: Community-Based Intervention Program”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “PROACT: Community-Based Intervention Program”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $2.25m and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.
How do I apply for “PROACT: Community-Based Intervention Program”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity SFOP0005952), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Notice of Intent: Program to End Modern Slavery FY 2023
Office to Monitor-Combat Trafficking in Persons- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 1, 2099
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
U.S. Embassy Praia Ambassador’s Special Self-Help (SSH) Program
U.S. Mission to Cape Verde- Award range
- $3K – $10K
- Closes
- See notice
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Notice of Intent: Program to End Modern Slavery FY 2025
Office to Monitor-Combat Trafficking in Persons- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 1, 2099
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Alumni Engagement Innovation Fund 2024
U.S. Mission to Latvia- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Feb 1, 2024 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Mission Spain Public Diplomacy 2022 Annual Program Statement
U.S. Mission to Spain- Award range
- $25K – $75K
- Closes
- See notice
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
U.S. Mission Italy PDS Annual Program Statement
U.S. Mission to Italy- Award range
- $20K – $75K
- Est. close
- Jan 25, 2024 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)