FY 2020 DRL Internet Freedom Annual Program Statement
Bureau of Democracy Human Rights and Labor · Department of State
At a glance
FY 2020 DRL Internet Freedom Annual Program Statement is a closed federal other opportunity from the Bureau of Democracy Human Rights and Labor (Department of State). The application deadline was March 9, 2020. Individual awards are listed as $500K – $3M, with $14M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 19.345 (International Programs to Support Democracy, Human Rights and Labor).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Oct 24, 2019Posted
- Mar 9, 2020Application deadline
- Posted
- Oct 24, 2019
- Close date
- Mar 9, 2020
- Award floor
- $500,000
- Award ceiling
- $3,000,000
- Est. total funding
- $14,000,000
- Original deadline (extended)
- Mar 6, 2020
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Other
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Please see "Eligibility Information" in the Request for Statements of Interest.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor (DRL) announces a Request for Statements of Interest (RSOI) from organizations interested in submitting Statements of Interest (SOI) for programs that support Internet Freedom. In support of the U.S. International Strategy for Cyberspace, DRL's goal is to protect the open, interoperable, secure, and reliable Internet by promoting fundamental freedoms, human rights, and the free flow of information online through integrated support to civil society for technology, digital safety, policy and advocacy, and applied research programs. DRL invites organizations interested in potential funding to submit SOI applications outlining program concepts that reflect this goal.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 19.345
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Bureau of Democracy Human Rights and Labor
202-890-9795
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “FY 2020 DRL Internet Freedom Annual Program Statement”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “FY 2020 DRL Internet Freedom Annual Program Statement”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $500k – $3m and total estimated program funding is $14,000,000.
How do I apply for “FY 2020 DRL Internet Freedom Annual Program Statement”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity SFOP0006232), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Public Diplomacy Small Grants Program
U.S. Mission to the European Union- Award range
- $1K – $70K
- Est. close
- Jul 1, 2020 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
MISSION ITALY ANNUAL PROGRAM STATEMENT 2023
U.S. Mission to Italy- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Mar 31, 2023 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
U.S. Mission Italy PDS Annual Program Statement
U.S. Mission to Italy- Award range
- $20K – $75K
- Est. close
- Jan 25, 2024 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Annual Program Statement (APS) For Fiscal Year 2026
U.S. Mission to Tunisia- Award range
- $10K – $200K
- Est. close
- Jun 8, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 2 more
U.S. Embassy The Hague PD Annual Program Statement
U.S. Mission to the Netherlands- Award range
- $2K – $25K
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
U.S. Embassy Praia Ambassador’s Special Self-Help (SSH) Program
U.S. Mission to Cape Verde- Award range
- $3K – $10K
- Closes
- See notice
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)