Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity SFOP0006595

DRL AGOA Civil Society Network Support

Bureau of Democracy Human Rights and Labor · Department of State

At a glance

DRL AGOA Civil Society Network Support is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Democracy Human Rights and Labor (Department of State). The application deadline was April 22, 2020. Individual awards are listed as $950K, with about 1 award expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 19.345 (International Programs to Support Democracy, Human Rights and Labor).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 6, 2020Posted
  2. Apr 22, 2020Application deadline
Posted
Mar 6, 2020
Close date
Apr 22, 2020
Award floor
$950,000
Award ceiling
$950,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

DRL welcomes applications from U.S.-based and foreign-based non-profit organizations/nongovernment organizations (NGO) and public international organizations; private, public, or state institutions of higher education; and for-profit organizations or businesses. DRL's preference is to work with non-profit entities; however, there may be some occasions when a for-profit entity is best suited.

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • Public colleges & universities
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor (DRL) announces an open competition for organizations interested in submitting applications for projects to promote African civil society participation in the annual African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) Forum.

AGOA legislation, authorized to 2025, calls for the establishment of a United States-Sub-Saharan Africa Trade and Economic Cooperation Forum (AGOA Forum) to meet annually to discuss trade and investment between the United States and the countries of sub-Saharan Africa, and the implementation of AGOA. To ensure civil society participation in AGOA trade discussions and promote strong and inclusive sub-Saharan African economies, DRL requests proposals for a $950,000 cooperative agreement to support leadership and development of a transparent and comprehensive AGOA civil society network. In conjunction with the annual AGOA forum, projects should support the network to effectively provide observations and recommendations regarding country compliance with AGOA eligibility criteria – including the establishment of or progress toward political pluralism and the rule of law, a system to combat corruption and bribery, and protection of internationally recognized worker rights – as well as effective utilization of AGOA benefits. Programs should also support local civil society to provide input on country compliance with requirements to not engage in gross violations of human rights and to cooperate with international efforts to eliminate human rights violations. Activities may include, but are not limited to: outreach, support, and mentoring for human rights and labor rights civil society organizations (CSOs) in AGOA eligible countries; assistance for local CSOs to prioritize and monitor key issues; and support to strategize, prepare for and attend the Forum and follow-up on Forum recommendations throughout the year.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 19.345

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24—
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 19.345. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 19.345

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 32 grant awards had funding actions under International Programs to Support Democracy, Human Rights and Labor, with 2 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. NATIONAL ENDOWMENT FOR DEMOCRACY$945M
  2. VITAL VOICES GLOBAL PARTNERSHIP INC$9.11M
  3. UNITED NATIONS EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND CULTURAL ORGANISATION$2.56M
  4. STALY SEKRETARIAT WSPOLNOTY DEMOKRACJI$1.97M
  5. INTERNATIONAL COALITION OF SITES OF CONSCIENCE$1.75M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Democracy Human Rights and Labor
703-516-1684

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “DRL AGOA Civil Society Network Support”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “DRL AGOA Civil Society Network Support”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $950k and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for “DRL AGOA Civil Society Network Support”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity SFOP0006595), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 19.022
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Feb 1, 2024 (est.)
Who can apply
Others (see notice)
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
ForecastedALN 19.040
Award range
$10K – $200K
Est. close
Jul 6, 2025 (est.)
Who can apply
501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Individuals and 1 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday