Assisted Outpatient Treatment
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminis · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Assisted Outpatient Treatment is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminis (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency has forecast this opportunity but has not yet set an application deadline. Total estimated funding is $5.3M across about 9 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include county governments, city or township governments and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.997 (Assisted Outpatient Treatment).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Sep 3, 2026Forecast posted
- Dec 15, 2026 (est.)Full notice expectednext date
- Sep 30, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Sep 3, 2026
- Est. close date
- Not listed
- Est. award date
- Sep 30, 2027
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $5,300,000
- Implied average award
- $588,889 calculated
- Expected awards
- 9
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
- Fiscal year
- FY2027
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.997, not this notice): Up to $1,000,000.
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligibility is statutorily limited to counties, cities, mental health systems (including mental health authorities), mental health courts, or any other entities with authority under the law of the State in which the applicant is located to implement, monitor and oversee assisted outpatient programs.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The purpose of this program is to facilitate the implementation of Assisted Outpatient Treatment (AOT) for adults with serious mental illness (SMI). Recipients are expected to implement the AOT program, working with civil courts, community partners, and other entities to support community-based treatment for adults with SMI who meet criteria for AOT.
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.997
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Angela Mark
angela.mark@samhsa.hhs.gov
240-276-1871
Quick answers
Is “Assisted Outpatient Treatment” open for applications yet?
Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around December 15, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.
Who is eligible to apply for “Assisted Outpatient Treatment”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: County governments, City or township governments and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Assisted Outpatient Treatment”?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $5,300,000 and the agency expects to make about 9 awards.
How do I apply for “Assisted Outpatient Treatment”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity SM-27-002), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Expanded Surveillance for Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- $850K – $1.14M
- Est. close
- Dec 31, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
Residential Treatment for Pregnant and Postpartum Women
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminis- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Cooperative Research Agreements Related to the World Trade Center Health Program (U01)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $550K
- Closes
- Dec 8, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Centers of Excellence in Healthcare Quality and Safety
Centers for Disease Control - NCEZID- Award range
- $3.5M – $22M
- Est. close
- Jan 4, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Advancing Research on Empirically-Supported Interventions for Older Adults Living with Serious Mental Illness (SMI) (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Oct 15, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
GLS Campus Suicide Prevention
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminis- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice)