Notice of Intent to Publish a Funding Opportunity Announcement for NIEHS Worker Training Program’s Hazardous Materials Worker Health and Safety Training (U45 – Clinical Trials Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Notice of Intent to Publish a Funding Opportunity Announcement for NIEHS Worker Training Program’s Hazardous Materials Worker Health and Safety Training (U45 – Clinical Trials Not Allowed) is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of November 25, 2025; forecast dates can change. Total estimated funding is $6M across about 5 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and private colleges & universities. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.142 (NIEHS Hazardous Waste Worker Health and Safety Training).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- May 28, 2025Forecast posted
- Oct 16, 2025 (est.)Full notice expected
- Nov 25, 2025 (est.)Application deadline
- Jun 1, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- May 28, 2025
- Est. close date
- Nov 25, 2025
- Est. award date
- Jun 1, 2026
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $6,000,000
- Implied average award
- $1,200,000 calculated
- Expected awards
- 5
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
- Fiscal year
- FY2026
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.142, not this notice): Range: $81,298 to $ 2,625,953 Average: $760,762
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Private colleges & universities
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) intends to publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) to solicit applications for the NIEHS Worker Training Program’s Hazardous Materials Worker Health and Safety Training Program (U45 Clinical Trials Not Allowed).
The Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA), Section126(g), authorizes an assistance program for training and education of workers engaged in activities related to hazardous waste generation, removal, containment or emergency response and hazardous materials transportation and emergency response. The United States Congress assigned responsibility for administering this program to the NIEHS, an Institute of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) under the US Department of Health and Human Services (US DHHS).
This funding opportunity will utilize the U45 activity code to provide support for the development of health and safety training of workers exposed to hazardous materials. This consists of classroom, online, and practical health and safety training for workers and their supervisors, who are engaged in activities related to hazardous materials, hazardous waste generation, treatment, storage, disposal, removal, containment, transportation, or emergency response. This NOFO lists three distinct program areas: Hazardous Waste Worker Training Program (HWWTP), the Environmental Career Worker Training Program (ECWTP), and the Hazmat Disaster Preparedness Training Program (HDPTP). The core program is the HWWTP and is required in order to add the other two optional programs. Investigators with expertise and insights into this area of occupational health and safety education and training are encouraged to begin to consider applying for this new NOFO. In addition, collaborative investigations combining expertise in industrial hygiene and environmental exposures will be encouraged and these investigators should also begin considering applying for this application.
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.142
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 93.142
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 41 grant awards had funding actions under NIEHS Hazardous Waste Worker Health and Safety Training, with 40 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- CPWR: THE CENTER FOR CONSTRUCTION RESEARCH AND TRAINING$18.8M
- STEELWORKERS CHARITABLE & EDUCATIONAL ORGANIZATION$15.3M
- INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS$9.93M
- INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF FIREFIGHTERS$7.67M
- RUTGERS THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW JERSEY$7.02M
Agency contact (as published)
Sharon Beard National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
beard1@niehs.nih.gov
984-287-3237
Quick answers
Is this opportunity open for applications yet?
Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around October 16, 2025. Forecast details and dates can change.
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $6,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 5 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity TEMP-31337), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
NIEHS Worker Training Program’s SBIR E-Learning for HAZMAT and Emergency Response (R43/R44 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Nov 20, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Small businesses
NIEHS Worker Training Program’s HAZMAT Training at DOE Nuclear Weapons Complex (UH4 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Nov 25, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and 1 more
Emergency Competitive Revision to Existing NIH Awards (Emergency Supplement - Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Apr 18, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Successor-in-Interest (Type 6 Parent Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jul 17, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Administrative Supplements to Existing NIH Grants and Cooperative Agreements (Parent Admin Supp Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Nov 30, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
NIH, CDC and FDA Small Business Innovation Research Grant (Parent SBIR [R43/R44] Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Apr 5, 2027
- Who can apply
- Small businesses