Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed

Assistance Listing 16.576

Crime Victim Compensation

Department of Justice · Office of Justice Programs

Assistance Listing 16.576, “Crime Victim Compensation,” is a federal program administered by Department of Justice. It provides grant assistance. GrantsJunction currently tracks 0 open, 0 forecasted and 10 closed opportunities under this listing. The agency reported $179M in obligations for fiscal year 2025.

Program objective

Program goal(s) name: Support crime victims through reimbursement, support, and services. Program goal(s) description: Supplement state and territory efforts to provide financial compensation to crime victims throughout the nation for costs resulting from crime. These funds are used to provide crime victims with the compensation, support, and services necessary to aid their restoration after criminal violence, including costs associated with medical fees, lost income, dependent care, funeral expenses, relocation expenses, and other costs. Program objective(s) name: Reimburse crime victims Program objective(s) description: Support state and territory crime victim compensation programs; Reimburse crime victims for expenses resulting from criminal violence.

As published in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing.

Current opportunities under 16.576

No open or forecasted opportunities are currently posted under this listing. Programs often post notices on an annual cycle — see recently closed opportunities below for timing.

Eligible applicants (program level)

  • Other

Program-level eligibility from SAM.gov. Each funding notice sets its own requirements.

Reported obligations by fiscal year

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$176M
FY25$179M
FY26— est.

Range and average of financial assistance (from the listing): Each State receives 60 percent of its prior year payout of State compensation funds

Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.576. Hatched bars are agency estimates. These totals do not indicate approval rates.

Who gets funded

Historical data · not a prediction

Grant obligations by fiscal year

FY22$180M
FY23$170M
FY24$175M
FY25$178M
Obligations recorded in USAspending.gov; FY25 may be partial. Can differ from the agency-reported totals above.

Source: USAspending.gov (grants and cooperative agreements, award types 02–05), refreshed weekly. Names and amounts are as reported by agencies and prime recipients. Past recipients show where money went — not who is eligible or how likely an application is to succeed.

Recently closed under 16.576

Closed opportunities under 16.576
OpportunityStatusAward rangeClosesALN
ClosedAmount not specifiedJul 8, 202616.576
ClosedUp to $179MAug 15, 202516.576
ClosedAmount not specifiedMay 28, 202416.576
ClosedAmount not specifiedJun 5, 202316.576
ClosedUp to $385KAug 30, 202216.576
ClosedUp to $547KAug 30, 202216.576
ClosedUp to $580KAug 30, 202216.576
ClosedAmount not specifiedJun 29, 202216.576
ClosedAmount not specifiedJun 23, 202216.576
ClosedAmount not specifiedJul 6, 202116.576

Frequently asked questions

What is ALN 16.576?

16.576 is the Assistance Listing Number for “Crime Victim Compensation.” Assistance Listing Numbers (formerly CFDA numbers) identify federal assistance programs; individual grant opportunities reference the listing they are funded under.

Who can apply under ALN 16.576?

The SAM.gov listing names these applicant types: Other. Each funding notice under the program sets its own eligibility, so check the specific opportunity.

How much funding does 16.576 provide?

The agency reported $179,021,579 in obligations for FY2025 in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing. These are program-wide totals reported by the agency, not a prediction of future awards.