Historically Black Colleges and Universities - Excellence in Research (HBCU - EiR)
U.S. National Science Foundation- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Oct 20, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Assistance Listing 47.079
U.S. National Science Foundation
Assistance Listing 47.079, “International Science and Engineering,” is a federal program administered by U.S. National Science Foundation. It provides grant assistance. GrantsJunction currently tracks 12 open, 0 forecasted and 28 closed opportunities under this listing. The agency reported $57.6M in obligations for fiscal year 2025.
To enable the U.S. to maintain its leadership within the global scientific community by strengthening international partnerships to advance scientific discovery and contribute to the security and welfare of the Nation; to develop a globally engaged U.S. science and engineering workforce by providing U.S. students and faculty with international research and education experiences.
As published in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing.
Intended beneficiaries: Specific Restrictions Determined at NOFO Level.
Program-level eligibility from SAM.gov. Each funding notice sets its own requirements.
Range and average of financial assistance (from the listing): Range Lo: $87,233 Range High: $6,804,000 Average: $285,744
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 47.079. Hatched bars are agency estimates. These totals do not indicate approval rates.| Opportunity | Status | Award range | Closes | ALN |
|---|---|---|---|---|
U.S. National Science Foundation Research Traineeship (NRT) ProgramU.S. National Science Foundation | Closed | $2M – $3M | Sep 8, 2026 | 47.041, 47.049, 47.050, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.076, 47.079, 47.083, 47.084 |
Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) ProgramU.S. National Science Foundation | Closed | From $400K | Jul 24, 2013 | 47.041, 47.049, 47.050, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.076, 47.078, 47.079, 47.080, 47.081 |
Ethics Education in Science and EngineeringU.S. National Science Foundation | Closed | $15K – $300K | Mar 1, 2013 | 47.041, 47.049, 47.050, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.076, 47.079 |
Major Research Instrumentation ProgramU.S. National Science Foundation | Closed | Up to $4M | Jan 24, 2013 | 47.041, 47.049, 47.050, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.076, 47.078, 47.079, 47.080, 47.081 |
Collaborative Research in Computational NeuroscienceU.S. National Science Foundation | Closed | Amount not specified | Nov 2, 2012 | 47.041, 47.049, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.079, 47.080, 93.173, 93.213, 93.242, 93.273, 93.279, 93.286, 93.853, 93.865, 93.867 |
Research Experiences for UndergraduatesU.S. National Science Foundation | Closed | $5K – $400K | Jun 1, 2012 | 47.041, 47.049, 47.050, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.076, 47.078, 47.079, 47.080, 47.081 |
Science and Technology Centers: Integrative PartnershipsU.S. National Science Foundation | Closed | $1.5M – $5M | Feb 3, 2012 | 47.041, 47.049, 47.050, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.076, 47.078, 47.079, 47.080, 47.081 |
NSF Graduate Research Fellowship ProgramU.S. National Science Foundation | Closed | From $40.5K | Nov 14, 2011 | 47.041, 47.049, 47.050, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.076, 47.078, 47.079, 47.080, 47.081 |
East Asia and Pacific Summer Institutes for U.S. Graduate StudentsU.S. National Science Foundation | Closed | From $5K | Nov 9, 2011 | 47.041, 47.049, 47.050, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.076, 47.078, 47.079, 47.080, 47.081 |
ADVANCE: Increasing the Participation and Advancement of Women in Academic Science and Engineering CareersU.S. National Science Foundation | Closed | $100K – $4M | Nov 7, 2011 | 47.041, 47.049, 47.050, 47.070, 47.074, 47.075, 47.076, 47.078, 47.079, 47.080, 47.081 |
47.079 is the Assistance Listing Number for “International Science and Engineering.” Assistance Listing Numbers (formerly CFDA numbers) identify federal assistance programs; individual grant opportunities reference the listing they are funded under.
The SAM.gov listing names these applicant types: Other. Each funding notice under the program sets its own eligibility, so check the specific opportunity.
The agency reported $57,610,000 in obligations for FY2025 in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing. These are program-wide totals reported by the agency, not a prediction of future awards.