Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed

Assistance Listing 93.247

Advanced Nursing Education Workforce Grant Program

Department of Health and Human Services · Health Resources and Services Administration

Assistance Listing 93.247, “Advanced Nursing Education Workforce Grant Program,” is a federal program administered by Department of Health and Human Services. It provides grant assistance. GrantsJunction currently tracks 0 open, 0 forecasted and 4 closed opportunities under this listing. The agency reported $85.7M in obligations for fiscal year 2025.

Program objective

ANEW: The purpose of the Advanced Nursing Education Workforce (ANEW) Program is to increase the number of primary care nurse practitioners, clinical nurse specialists, and certified nurse midwives trained and prepared to provide primary care services, mental health and substance use disorder care, and/or maternal health care. Grants will support the training and graduation of advanced practice registered nursing (APRN) students/trainees in these disciplines. Awardees will provide tuition and other eligible supports to trainees, build academic-clinical partnerships to facilitate clinical training, and continue to develop and sustain clinical faculty and preceptors as needed. Applicants are strongly encouraged to recruit students/trainees and faculty from various populations. Funding preference will be given to eligible entities that train APRNs students to practice in underserved and rural communities or state and local health departments. ANE-NPRF: The purpose of this program is to prepare new Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs) to effectively provide primary care by supporting the establishment, expansion and/or enhancement of existing community-based Nurse Practitioner (NP) residency and fellowship training programs that are accredited or in the accreditation process. The program also focuses on the integration of behavioral health and/or maternal health into primary care by training new primary care providers (adult, family, adult gerontology, pediatric and women’s health NPs), behavioral health providers (psychiatric/mental health NPs) and/or Certified Nurse Midwives (CNMs) to transition from education completion to practice, in community-based settings. The award recipient must train these postgraduate APRNs who will serve in primary care settings with a focus on improving access to quality healthcare for rural, urban, and tribal underserved populations. MatCare: The purpose of the MatCare Program is to support accredited nurse midwifery programs to train nurse midwives through trainee scholarships, stipends, curriculum enhancement, and community-based training. The program seeks to grow and expand the maternal and perinatal health nursing workforce through support for education and training in rural and underserved communities. ANE-SANE: This program addresses the need to increase the number of qualified sexual assault nurse examiners (SANEs). The program expands access to forensic examinations thereby expanding access to services for survivors. The purpose of this program is to increase the supply, distribution, and quality of the sexual assault nurse examiner (SANE) workforce. The program aims to provide access to mental and physical care for survivors of sexual assault and domestic violence. ANE-NPR: The purpose of this program is to prepare new nurse practitioners (NPs) in primary care for practice in community-based settings through clinical and academic focused 12-month Nurse Practitioner Residency (NPR) programs, with a preference for those projects that benefit rural or underserved populations. The ANE-NPR Program seeks to increase primary care providers in community-based settings. This program has been structured in a way so that training programs are encouraged to support the placement of participants in rural and underserved settings and also find ways to assist NPR completers to remain in these settings. ANE-NPRIP: The purpose of this grant program is to prepare new NPs for primary care or behavioral health practice in integrated, community-based settings, through expansions and/or enhancements to existing 12-month NPR programs. The ANE-NPRIP seeks to increase the number of new primary care or behavioral health NPs serving in integrated, community-based settings.

As published in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing.

Current opportunities under 93.247

No open or forecasted opportunities are currently posted under this listing. Programs often post notices on an annual cycle — see recently closed opportunities below for timing.

Eligible applicants (program level)

  • Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government (Other than Federally Recognized)
  • Nonprofit Organization
  • U.S. Territory (or Possession) Government (including freely-associated states)
  • Other
  • Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government

ANEW/MatCare: Eligible applicants are accredited schools of nursing, nursing centers, academic health centers, state, or local governments, and other private or public nonprofit entities determined appropriate by the Secretary, such as HRSA-supported health centers or Rural Health Clinics. ANE SANE: Eligible applicants include accredited schools of nursing, nursing centers, nurse-managed health clinics, academic health centers, State or local health departments, HRSA-supported health centers, Community Health Centers, Rural Health Clinics, public or non-profit Hospitals, other emergency health care service providers, Federally Qualified Health Centers, Clinics receiving funding under Title X and other relevant public or private non-profit entities. ANE-NPRF: Eligible entities are accredited schools of nursing, nursing centers (nurse managed health clinics/centers), academic health centers, state, or local governments and other nonprofit private or public entities determined appropriate by the HHS Secretary, such as Rural Health Clinics, FQHCs, or HRSA-supported health centers. Domestic community-based organizations, tribes, and tribal organizations are also eligible to apply, if otherwise eligible. Individuals and foreign entities are not eligible.

Intended beneficiaries: Nonprofit Organization, Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government (Other than Federally Recognized) and Health Professional.

Program-level eligibility from SAM.gov. Each funding notice sets its own requirements.

Reported obligations by fiscal year

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$86.3M
FY25$85.7M
FY26— est.

Range and average of financial assistance (from the listing): ANEW FY 23: Range -$285,714 -$650,000, Average - $646,746 FY24: Range $284,222 to $646,605, Average $616,347 FY25 est: Range -$284,222 -$646,605 Average - $616,347 ANE-NPRF PY 23: Range - $511,525 - $700,000, Average - $672,664 FY 24: Range - $506,739 - $693,451, Average - $661,489 FY 25 est.: Range-$506,739 - $693,451, Average - $661,489 MatCare FY23: $307,430 - $1,000,000, Average- $800,000 FY24 : $307,016 - $1,000,000, Average - $799,341 FY25 est.: $306,975 - $1,000,000, Average - $792,634 ANE-SANE FY 23: Range - $ 316,391 - $500,000, Average - $ 477,259 FY24: Range - $ 210,574 - $500,000, Average - $467,429 FY25 est.: Range- $174,292 - $500,000 Average - $463,715

Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.247. Hatched bars are agency estimates. These totals do not indicate approval rates.

Who gets funded

Historical data · not a prediction

Grant obligations by fiscal year

FY22$77.7M
FY23$86.6M
FY24$81.7M
FY25$83.6M
FY26$87.2M
Obligations recorded in USAspending.gov; FY26 may be partial. Can differ from the agency-reported totals above.

Source: USAspending.gov (grants and cooperative agreements, award types 02–05), refreshed weekly. Names and amounts are as reported by agencies and prime recipients. Past recipients show where money went — not who is eligible or how likely an application is to succeed.

Recently closed under 93.247

Closed opportunities under 93.247
OpportunityStatusAward rangeClosesALN
ClosedAmount not specifiedApr 2, 202493.247
Maternity Care Nursing Workforce Expansion (MatCare) ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration
ClosedUp to $1MJul 14, 202393.247
ClosedAmount not specifiedApr 11, 202393.247
Advanced Nursing Education Workforce (ANEW) ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration
ClosedUp to $650KApr 7, 202393.247

Frequently asked questions

What is ALN 93.247?

93.247 is the Assistance Listing Number for “Advanced Nursing Education Workforce Grant Program.” Assistance Listing Numbers (formerly CFDA numbers) identify federal assistance programs; individual grant opportunities reference the listing they are funded under.

Who can apply under ALN 93.247?

The SAM.gov listing names these applicant types: Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government (Other than Federally Recognized), Nonprofit Organization, U.S. Territory (or Possession) Government (including freely-associated states), Other and Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government. Each funding notice under the program sets its own eligibility, so check the specific opportunity.

How much funding does 93.247 provide?

The agency reported $85,745,258 in obligations for FY2025 in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing. These are program-wide totals reported by the agency, not a prediction of future awards.