Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline moved (was Nov 23, 2020)Opportunity BAA-RVKV-2015-0003

AFRL RD/RV University Cooperative Agreement

Air Force -- Research Lab · Department of Defense

At a glance

AFRL RD/RV University Cooperative Agreement is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Air Force -- Research Lab (Department of Defense). The application deadline was January 9, 2019. Total estimated funding is $24.5M across about 3 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include independent school districts and private colleges & universities. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 12.800 (Air Force Defense Research Sciences Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Nov 24, 2015Posted
  2. Jan 9, 2019Application deadline
Posted
Nov 24, 2015
Close date
Jan 9, 2019
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$24,500,000
Implied average award
$8,166,667 calculated
Original deadline
Nov 23, 2020
Expected awards
3
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 12.800, not this notice): The range for Federal Assistance is $3,000 to $332,089,923 Approximate Average Award Size: $941,199

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • Independent school districts
  • Private colleges & universities

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This is a 5 year, open BAA. The AFRL Directed Energy Directorate (RD) and Space Vehicles Directorate (RV) are interested in receiving proposals under this announcement in order to establish university Cooperative Agreements (CA) to provide funds to students/professors in a timely manner for the purpose of engaging U.S./U.S. territories’ colleges and universities in directed energy and space vehicles-related basic, applied, and advanced research projects that are of interest to the Department of Defense (DoD). The scope of the research will include the entire spectrum of RD and RV technology that is applicable to the Air Force, including all peripherally-related RD and RV research.

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 12.800

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$874M
FY25$652M
FY26$700M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 12.800. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 12.800

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 2,840 grant awards had funding actions under Air Force Defense Research Sciences Program, with 1,363 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. NATIONAL CENTER FOR DEFENSE MANUFACTURING AND MACHINING$514M
  2. FLEXTECH ALLIANCE, INC.$151M
  3. BIOINDUSTRIAL MANUFACTURING AND DESIGN ECOSYSTEM$128M
  4. THE RESEARCH FOUNDATION FOR THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK$69.9M
  5. RED ROCK BIOFUELS LLC$67.5M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

john.mcglaughlin.35@us.af.mil

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “AFRL RD/RV University Cooperative Agreement”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Independent school districts and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “AFRL RD/RV University Cooperative Agreement”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $24,500,000 and the agency expects to make about 3 awards.

How do I apply for “AFRL RD/RV University Cooperative Agreement”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity BAA-RVKV-2015-0003), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 12.800

STARBASE Wright Patt

Air Force -- Research Lab
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Not yet set
Who can apply
Independent school districts
Source: Grants.govVerified today