Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedOpportunity CDC-RFA-PS-27-0037

Direct-to-Consumer Distribution of HIV and other STI Self-Tests

Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Direct-to-Consumer Distribution of HIV and other STI Self-Tests is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of May 21, 2027; forecast dates can change. Total estimated funding is $75M across about 1 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, private colleges & universities and for-profit organizations (not small businesses). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.940 (HIV Prevention and Surveillance Activities-Health Department Based).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jul 27, 2026Forecast posted
  2. Mar 22, 2027 (est.)Full notice expectednext date
  3. May 21, 2027 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Aug 30, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
Posted
Jul 27, 2026
Est. close date
May 21, 2027
Est. award date
Aug 30, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$75,000,000
Implied average award
$75,000,000 calculated
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.940, not this notice): Awards range from $2,000,000 - $235,706,951. Average Award is $78,878,744.

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The purpose of this notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) is to optimize the recipient's existing web-based ordering portal and distribution program to provide at least 1.5 million HIV and other STI self-tests to communities with a high burden of HIV. The use of the program's HIV and other STI self-tests and of resources for treatment and preventive services will increase awareness of HIV and other STI infection, prevent new infections, decrease HIV and other STI transmission, and improve overall health and well-being of users.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.940

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$410M
FY25$502M
FY26$502M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.940. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Jessica Keralis
HRBNOFO@cdc.gov
(301) 458-4132

Quick answers

Is “Direct-to-Consumer Distribution of HIV and other STI Self-Tests” open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around March 22, 2027. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for “Direct-to-Consumer Distribution of HIV and other STI Self-Tests”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and For-profit organizations (not small businesses). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Direct-to-Consumer Distribution of HIV and other STI Self-Tests”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $75,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for “Direct-to-Consumer Distribution of HIV and other STI Self-Tests”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-PS-27-0037), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 93.978
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
May 31, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today