National Viral Hepatitis Education, Awareness, and Capacity Building for Communities and Providers
Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
National Viral Hepatitis Education, Awareness, and Capacity Building for Communities and Providers is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was May 14, 2021. Total estimated funding is $2.75M across about 2 awards. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.270 (Viral Hepatitis Prevention and Control).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Mar 15, 2021Posted
- May 14, 2021Application deadline
- Sep 30, 2021 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Mar 15, 2021
- Close date
- May 14, 2021
- Est. award date
- Sep 30, 2021
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $2,750,000
- Implied average award
- $1,375,000 calculated
- Expected awards
- 2
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.270, not this notice): Awards range from $1,124,000 to $24,263,623, with an average award of $12,693,811.
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
N/A
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) will address the need for conducting viral hepatitis testing of populations most affected by chronic hepatitis B and/or chronic hepatitis C and linking patients as appropriate to care and treatment, thereby reducing morbidity and mortality. This will be achieved through two completely separate components, Part A: Community Education and Awareness and Capacity Building and Part B: Professional Education/Training. Part A strategies and activities focus on leading and growing an existing national coalition that serves populations or geographic areas with high rates of viral hepatitis. The national coalition will (1) share strategies, materials, and lessons learned; (2) provide technical assistance to conduct culturally competent educational outreach; (3) build capacity to test the target populations; and (4) engage members in implementing CDC’s educational campaign(s). Outcomes for Part A are: (1) increased number and capacity of coalition members to deliver culturally competent educational outreach; (2) increased awareness among people living with chronic hepatitis B and/or chronic hepatitis C of their infection; and (3) increased exposure to CDC’s education campaign(s). Part B activities are: developing free, accurate, up-to-date, Continuing Education-accredited comprehensive web-based, on-demand hepatitis materials, resources, and trainings for health professionals. The outcomes for part B are increasing the knowledge and skills of health professionals, including the ability to screen, diagnose, medically manage, and provide care to people with chronic viral hepatitis.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
- CDC-RFA-PS21-2105 (Final).pdfFull Announcement · CDC-RFA-PS21-2105 (Final).pdfPDF · 854 KB
- CDC-RFA-PS21-2105 (Amended) 3.25.2021.pdfRevised Full Announcement · CDC-RFA-PS21-2105 (Amended) 3.25.2021.pdfPDF · 917 KB
- 2021 01 18 NOFO PS 21 2105 logic model updated from pre clearance.docxOther Supporting Documents · 2021 01 18 NOFO PS 21 2105 logic model updated from pre clearance.docxVND. · 26 KB
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.270
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP
kek4@cdc.gov
770-488-2756
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $2,750,000 and the agency expects to make about 2 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-PS21-2105), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Integrated Viral Hepatitis Surveillance, Testing, Treatment, and Prevention Programs for Health Departments (IVH-STTP)
Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Feb 16, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
National Viral Hepatitis Education, Awareness, and Capacity Building for Communities and Providers
Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jun 1, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Strengthening Services to Prevent the Infectious Disease Consequences of Drug Use
Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- May 24, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Holistic and Evidence-Informed Wellness for STI Prevention
Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- May 31, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
Direct-to-Consumer Distribution of HIV and other STI Self-Tests
Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- May 21, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 2 more
The National Network of STI Prevention Training Centers (NNPTC)
Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP- Award range
- $350K – $1M
- Est. close
- Feb 20, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more