Addressing Development and Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons by Russia
Bureau of International Security-Nonproliferation · Department of State
At a glance
Addressing Development and Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons by Russia is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of International Security-Nonproliferation (Department of State). The application deadline was July 30, 2025. Individual awards are listed as $250K – $10M, with about 10 awards expected and $15M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 19.033 (Global Threat Reduction).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- May 30, 2025Posted
- Jul 30, 2025Application deadline
- Posted
- May 30, 2025
- Close date
- Jul 30, 2025
- Award floor
- $250,000
- Award ceiling
- $10,000,000
- Est. total funding
- $15,000,000
- Expected awards
- 10
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
The following organizations are eligible to apply: U.S. for-profit organizations or businesses; U.S.-based non-profit/non-governmental organizations with or without 501(c) (3) status of the U.S. tax code; U.S.-based private, public, or state institutions of higher education; foreign-based non-profit organizations/non-government organizations (NGO); Federally Funded Research and Development Centers (FFRDCs); Public International Organizations (PIO) ; Foreign Public Entities (FPE); and foreign-based institutions of higher education.
- Public colleges & universities
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
In response to the national security threat posed by chemical and biological weapons (CBW) , ISN/CTR will engage biological, biotechnology, chemical, and pharmaceutical (BBCP) industry on compliance and due diligence best-practices to protect manufacturing and distribution supply chains from Russian acquisition of material and equipment for CBW development. In the instances of use, ISN/CTR will train first responders to assess and secure contamination sites and collect and transport samples to maintain a proper chain of custody to a detection laboratory. ISN/CTR will also train laboratory staff in CBW detection methods to ensure beneficiaries are technically proficient to detect CBW use, as well as strengthen cybersecurity via assessments and select upgrades to protect detection processes, documentation, and reporting.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
- CTR NOFO Q&AFull Announcement · CTR NOFO Q&A - Final posted 28 July.pdfPDF · 555 KB
- FY 2025 Budget Template 241004Full Announcement · FY 2025 Budget Template 241004.xlsxVND. · 110 KB
- FY25 CTR Consolidated Project ListFull Announcement · FY25 CTR Consolidated Project List.xlsxVND. · 42 KB
- FY25 CTR Project Narrative TemplateFull Announcement · FY25 CTR Project Narrative Template 250708.docxVND. · 32 KB
- Monitoring Indicator Table SampleFull Announcement · Monitoring Indicator Table Sample.xlsxVND. · 21 KB
- NOFO GuidanceFull Announcement · Addressing Development and Use of CBW by Russia NOFO DFOP0017240 - 6 June 2025.docxVND. · 90 KB
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 19.033
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Bureau of International Security-Nonproliferation
703-516-1684
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Addressing Development and Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons by Russia”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Addressing Development and Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons by Russia”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $250k – $10m, total estimated program funding is $15,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 10 awards.
How do I apply for “Addressing Development and Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons by Russia”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity DFOP0017240), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Public Diplomacy Small Grants Program
U.S. Mission to the European Union- Award range
- $1K – $70K
- Est. close
- Jul 1, 2020 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Embassy Belgrade PAS - University Partnership
U.S. Mission to Serbia- Award range
- $40K – $240K
- Est. close
- Jul 20, 2020 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
MISSION ITALY ANNUAL PROGRAM STATEMENT 2023
U.S. Mission to Italy- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Mar 31, 2023 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
U.S. Mission Italy PDS Annual Program Statement
U.S. Mission to Italy- Award range
- $20K – $75K
- Est. close
- Jan 25, 2024 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Alumni Engagement Innovation Fund 2024
U.S. Mission to Latvia- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Feb 1, 2024 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Mission Spain Public Diplomacy NOFO Defensa y Yo 5.0, 2024-2025
U.S. Mission to Spain- Award range
- Up to $95K
- Est. close
- Sep 8, 2024 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)