Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity ED-GRANTS-060322-001

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE): Indian Education Discretionary Grant Programs: Native American Language (NAL@ED) Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.415B

Department of Education

At a glance

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Office of Indian Education (OIE): Indian Education Discretionary Grant Programs: Native American Language (NAL@ED) Program, Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.415B is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was August 2, 2022. Total estimated funding is $1.05M across about 3 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations, for-profit organizations (not small businesses) and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.415 (Indian Education National Activities (State Tribal Education Partnership (STEP) and Native American Language (NAL)).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Jun 3, 2022
Close date
Aug 2, 2022
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$1,054,537
Expected awards
3
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

1. Eligible Applicants: The following entities, either alone or in a consortium, that have a plan to develop and maintain, or to improve and expand, programs that support the entity’s use of a Native American or Alaska Native language as the primary language of instruction in one or more elementary or secondary schools (or both) are eligible under this program:(a) An Indian Tribe. (b) A Tribal College or University (TCU). (c) A Tribal education agency. (d) An LEA, including a public charter school that is an LEA under State law. (e) A school operated by the Bureau of Indian Education (BIE). (f) An Alaska Native Regional Corporation (as described in section 3(g) of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (43 U.S.C. 1602(g))). (g) A private, Tribal, or Alaska Native nonprofit organization. (h) A non-Tribal for-profit organization.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information.

For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Revised Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on December 27, 2021.

Purpose of Program: The purposes of this program are to (1) support schools that use Native American and Alaska Native languages as the primary language of instruction; (2) maintain, protect, and promote the rights and freedom of Native Americans and Alaska Natives to use, practice, maintain, and revitalize their languages, as envisioned in the Native American Languages Act of 1990 (25 U.S.C. 2901, et seq.); and (3) support the Nation’s First Peoples’ efforts to maintain and revitalize their languages and cultures, and to improve educational opportunities and student outcomes within Native American and Alaska Native communities.

Assistance Listing Number (ALN) 84.415B.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 84.415

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$12.4M
FY25$12.4M
FY26$14.4M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 84.415. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Julius C Cotton ED Grants.gov FIND Systems Admin.
NAL@ed.gov
202-245-6288

Places named in the notice

Alaska

Derived from the notice text. A place being named does not by itself restrict eligibility.

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, For-profit organizations (not small businesses) and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $1,054,537 and the agency expects to make about 3 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-060322-001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.