Limited Competition: Community-Partnered Nursing Research Centers for Schools and Colleges of Nursing with Limited NIH Funding (P20 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Limited Competition: Community-Partnered Nursing Research Centers for Schools and Colleges of Nursing with Limited NIH Funding (P20 Clinical Trial Optional) is a forecasted federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of December 13, 2025; forecast dates can change. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, independent school districts, public colleges & universities, federally recognized tribal governments and 6 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.361 (Nursing Research).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- May 9, 2025Forecast posted
- Jun 13, 2025 (est.)Full notice expected
- Dec 13, 2025 (est.)Application deadline
- Jul 1, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- May 9, 2025
- Est. close date
- Dec 13, 2025
- Est. award date
- Jul 1, 2026
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
- Fiscal year
- FY2026
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.361, not this notice): Fiscal Year 2023: Research Grants: $9,632 to $2,360,082; Average cost $440,204 Cooperative Agreements: $9,632 to $683,828; Average cost $125,899 NRSA Individual Awards: $2,641 to $78,272; Average cost of FTTP/Award $41,439 NRSA Institutional Awards: $185,157 to $523,377; Average cost of FTTP $58,895/Average cost of Award $356,837 Fiscal Year 2024 (est.): Research Grants: $10,000 to $3,833,036; Average cost $457,774 Cooperative Agreements: $18,938 to $806,431; Average cost $189,748 NRSA Individual Awards: $2,500 to $51,974; Average cost of FTTP/Award $41,839 NRSA Institutional Awards: $74,894 to $691,597; Average cost of FTTP $57,912/Average cost of Award $369,191
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The purpose of this notice is to inform the research community that the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) intends to publish a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO), Limited Competition: Community-Partnered Nursing Research Centers for Schools and Colleges of Nursing with Limited NIH Funding (P20 Clinical Trial Optional). This Notice is being provided to allow potential applicants sufficient time to develop meaningful collaborations and responsive projects.
This NOFO will utilize the P20 activity code. Details of the planned NOFO are provided below.
Research Initiative Details
The P20 Exploratory Centers will aim to foster nursing-led programs that promote community-partnered research to address persistent health challenges. This will be accomplished by developing and enhancing capacity for interdisciplinary, community-partnered research that advances the NINR mission by:
- Establishing centralized research resources in Schools or Colleges of Nursing (SON/CONs).
- Building the Center's community-partnered research expertise.
- Developing nurse-led, interdisciplinary research teams that partner with the community in the development, implementation, and evaluation of research efforts.
This will be a limited competition request for applications. Eligible Schools or Colleges of Nursing must award research doctoral degrees and have received no more than $5 million dollars per year of NIH support (in both direct and F&A/indirect costs) in any 4 of the last 7 fiscal years (does not have to be consecutive).
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.361
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 93.361
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 855 grant awards had funding actions under Nursing Research, with 1,076 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE$28.8M
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$25.9M
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK$17.5M
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN$13.8M
- EMORY UNIVERSITY$13.6M
Agency contact (as published)
Karen A. Kehl, PhD, RN National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
karen.kehl@nih.gov
301-594-8010
Quick answers
Is this opportunity open for applications yet?
Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around June 13, 2025. Forecast details and dates can change.
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Private colleges & universities, For-profit organizations (not small businesses) and Small businesses. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity FOR-NR-25-006), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Small Business Transition Grant for New Entrepreneurs (Parent R43/R44 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jan 5, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Small businesses
Small Business Transition Grant for New Entrepreneurs (Parent R41/R42 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jan 5, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Small businesses
Academic Research Enhancement Award (AREA) for Undergraduate-Focused Institutions (R15 Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $375K
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
NIH Pathway to Independence Award (Parent K99/R00 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
NIH Pathway to Independence Award (Parent K99/R00 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Research Scientist Development Award (Parent K01 - Independent Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more