Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity FR-6500-N-04

2021 Family Self-Sufficiency – Renewal NOFO

Department of Housing and Urban Development

At a glance

2021 Family Self-Sufficiency – Renewal NOFO is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Housing and Urban Development. The application deadline was September 21, 2021. Total estimated funding is $105M across about 700 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 14.896 (Family Self-Sufficiency Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Jul 28, 2021
Close date
Sep 21, 2021
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$105,000,000
Expected awards
700
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

1. Eligible Applicants. PHAs (including MTW PHAs) currently administering an FSS program that have met all funding requirements outlined in prior year Notice of Awards and Grant Agreements and the Terms and Conditions therein, see Appendix C. Due to the level of funding under this NOFO, applicants will only be eligible for funding if they meet one of the following criteria: the applicant was funded under any of the FY 2018, FY 2019, and/or FY 2020 FSS NOFOs; or the applicant received an FSS program through a transfer or consolidation from a PHA that was funded under the FY 2018, FY 2019, or FY 2020 NOFO Please Note – PHAs that have repositioned all of their Public Housing stock in which FSS participants resided and do not serve HCV FSS participants are not eligible to apply for funding under this NOFO, as, when their current funding ends, they will no longer meet the definition of “currently administering an FSS program.” For example, your PHA has 60 PH units and no vouchers. You have 18 FSS participants. You reposition all the PH units were those 18 FSS participants live (for instance, you use RAD to convert all your family units to PBRA and all your FSS participants lived in family units.) Due to the RAD notice, you are able to continue using your FY20 FSS NOFO funding through 12/31/21. However, you no longer have a PH FSS program and you do not serve HCV FSS participants. After 12/31/21, your PHA will no longer administer an FSS program (even if you, as the PBRA owner, are serving those RAD-affected FSS participants). Thus, you are not eligible for funding under this FY21 NOFO. Please Note – If your PHA was affected by a Presidentially Declared Disaster (PDD), which prevented you from submitting your application by the September 7, 2021 deadline, then refer to Section I. Funding Opportunity Description, 2. Changes from Previous NOFO of the NOFO for guidance on the updated application date of September 21, 2021 for PDD affected PHAs. Individuals, foreign entities, and sole proprietorship organizations are not eligible to compete for, or receive, awards made under this announcement.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Family Self-Sufficiency (FSS) program supports the Department’s strategic goal of increasing economic opportunity for HUD-assisted families. FSS provides grants to Public Housing Authorities (PHAs) to support the salaries and training needs of FSS Program Coordinators who assist participating families receiving housing assistance through the Housing Choice Voucher (HCV/PBV) and Public Housing (PH) programs. FSS Program Coordinators develop local strategies to connect participating families to public and private resources to increase their earned income and financial empowerment, reduce or eliminate the need for welfare assistance, and make progress toward economic independence and self-sufficiency. PHAs and each individual participating family execute a five-year Contract of Participation that incorporates the responsibilities of each party, as well as a training and services plan to help the family become more self-sufficient. PHAs are not permitted to limit FSS participation to those families most likely to succeed.
On May 24, 2018, The Economic Growth, Regulatory Relief, and Consumer Protection Act became Public Law No: 115-174. Section 306 of the Act amended the United States Housing Act of 1937 to revise the FSS program.  The Act specifically changes program requirements related to program eligibility, escrow deposits, and supportive services; allows the Secretary to establish a funding formula; and extends eligibility for grant awards to private owners of project-based rental assistance (PBRA) properties. 
The changes to the FSS program are not in effect until HUD issues implementing regulations.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 14.896

Historical data · not a prediction
FY20$79.6M
FY21$79.3M
FY22$101M
FY23$115M
FY24$133M est.
FY25$125M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 14.896. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Department of Housing and Urban Development
fss@hud.gov
202 708 0667

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “2021 Family Self-Sufficiency – Renewal NOFO”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “2021 Family Self-Sufficiency – Renewal NOFO”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $105,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 700 awards.

How do I apply for “2021 Family Self-Sufficiency – Renewal NOFO”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity FR-6500-N-04), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 14.537

Eviction Protection Grant Program

Department of Housing and Urban Development
Award range
$500K – $2M
Est. close
Feb 17, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 8 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 14.880

Family Unification Program (FUP) Multi-Year NOFO

Department of Housing and Urban Development
Award range
Up to $1.7M
Est. close
Nov 10, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
Public & Indian housing authorities
Source: Grants.govVerified today