Assistance Listing 14.896
Family Self-Sufficiency Program
Department of Housing and Urban Development · Assistant Secretary for Public and Indian Housing
Assistance Listing 14.896, “Family Self-Sufficiency Program,” is a federal program administered by Department of Housing and Urban Development. It provides project grants and project grants assistance. GrantsJunction currently tracks 0 open, 0 forecasted and 3 closed opportunities under this listing. The agency reported $115M in obligations for fiscal year 2023.
Program objective
To promote the development of local strategies to coordinate the use of assistance under the Housing Choice Voucher, Public Housing and Project-Based Rental Assistance programs with public and private resources to enable participating families to increase earned income and financial literacy, reduce or eliminate the need for welfare assistance, and make progress toward economic independence and self-sufficiency. Public Housing FSS and HCV FSS were separate programs for many years. They were combined into one FSS program in FY14. PBRA became eligible to be funded with the implementation of the FSS Final Rule in May 2022.
As published in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing.
Current opportunities under 14.896
No open or forecasted opportunities are currently posted under this listing. Programs often post notices on an annual cycle — see recently closed opportunities below for timing.
Eligible applicants (program level)
- State
- Public nonprofit institution/organization (includes institutions of higher education and hospitals)
- Profit organization
- Government - General
Public Housing Authorities (PHAs) (not including NAHASDA funding)
Intended beneficiaries: Low Income and Individual/Family.
Program-level eligibility from SAM.gov. Each funding notice sets its own requirements.
Reported obligations by fiscal year
Historical data · not a predictionRange and average of financial assistance (from the listing): Total grants range from approximately $15,000 - $2,425,000. Average approximately $96,000 per coordinator. Number of coordinators per PHA varies.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 14.896. Hatched bars are agency estimates. These totals do not indicate approval rates.Recently closed under 14.896
| Opportunity | Status | Award range | Closes | ALN |
|---|---|---|---|---|
2022 Family Self-Sufficiency NOFODepartment of Housing and Urban Development | Closed | Amount not specified | Sep 13, 2023 | 14.896 |
2021 Family Self-Sufficiency – Renewal NOFODepartment of Housing and Urban Development | Closed | Amount not specified | Sep 21, 2021 | 14.896 |
2020 Family Self-Sufficiency – Renewal NOFA SupplementalDepartment of Housing and Urban Development | Closed | Amount not specified | Jan 22, 2021 | 14.896 |
Frequently asked questions
What is ALN 14.896?
14.896 is the Assistance Listing Number for “Family Self-Sufficiency Program.” Assistance Listing Numbers (formerly CFDA numbers) identify federal assistance programs; individual grant opportunities reference the listing they are funded under.
Who can apply under ALN 14.896?
The SAM.gov listing names these applicant types: State, Public nonprofit institution/organization (includes institutions of higher education and hospitals), Profit organization and Government - General. Each funding notice under the program sets its own eligibility, so check the specific opportunity.
How much funding does 14.896 provide?
The agency reported $114,992,550 in obligations for FY2023 in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing. These are program-wide totals reported by the agency, not a prediction of future awards.