BJA FY 21 Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Abuse Site-based Program
At a glance
BJA FY 21 Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Abuse Site-based Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was July 7, 2021. Individual awards are listed as up to $6M, with about 110 awards expected and $163M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.838 (Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Use Program).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Posted
- May 4, 2021
- Close date
- Jul 7, 2021
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $6,000,000
- Est. total funding
- $163,000,000
- Expected awards
- 110
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
See Eligibility Section
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Department of Justice is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights, increases access to justice, supports crime victims, protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.
The Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Abuse Program (COSSAP) was developed as part of the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act (CARA) legislation. COSSAP's purpose is to provide financial and technical assistance to states, units of local government, and Indian tribal governments to develop, implement, or expand comprehensive efforts to identify, respond to, treat, and support those impacted by illicit opioids, stimulants, and other drugs of abuse.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 16.838
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 21 Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Abuse Site-based Program”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “BJA FY 21 Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Abuse Site-based Program”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $6m, total estimated program funding is $163,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 110 awards.
How do I apply for “BJA FY 21 Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Abuse Site-based Program”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2021-94008), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
BJA FY 2026 Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Use Program (COSSUP) Training and Technical Assistance (TTA)
Bureau of Justice Assistance- Award range
- Up to $2M
- Closes
- Nov 2, 2026
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
OJJDP FY 2026 Community and Schools Youth Drug Prevention Program
Office of Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention- Award range
- Up to $750K
- Closes
- Oct 29, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
OJP FY 2026 Special Attorneys Program Round 9
Bureau of Justice Assistance- Award range
- Up to $3M
- Closes
- Oct 8, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
BJA FY 2026 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program—Local Formula
Bureau of Justice Assistance- Award range
- Up to $4.96M
- Closes
- Oct 9, 2026
- Who can apply
- County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments and 2 more
DOJ FY 2026 Invited to Apply - National Integrated Ballistic Information (NIBIN) Modernization Program
Bureau of Justice Assistance- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Oct 13, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
U.S. Department of Justice FY26 Coordinated Tribal Assistance Solicitation Notice of Funding Opportunity
Bureau of Justice Assistance- Award range
- Up to $5.6M
- Closes
- Oct 15, 2026
- Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments and Others (see notice)