Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedResearch announcementOpportunity O-BJA-2023-171649

BJA FY 23 Drug Data Research Center to Combat the Overdose Crisis

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 23 Drug Data Research Center to Combat the Overdose Crisis is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was May 1, 2023. Individual awards are listed as up to $1.98M. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities and private colleges & universities. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.046 (Drug Data Research Center to Combat the Opioid Crisis).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 9, 2023Posted
  2. May 1, 2023Application deadline
Posted
Mar 9, 2023
Close date
May 1, 2023
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$1,980,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • Private colleges & universities

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and racial equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety and protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.

With this solicitation, BJA seeks to continue developing a network of drug data research centers to combat the overdose crisis, building on the first award made in 2022. BJA anticipates making up to two awards to two accredited institutions of higher learning to support expanding an existing statewide drug data repository into a regional drug data research center ("regional data center") that will promote the collection, analysis, research, and dissemination of information to help combat the surge in fatal and nonfatal overdoses from opioids, stimulants, and other substances. Institutions awarded under this solicitation and their respective data research centers will work with the FY 2022 Drug Data Research Centers to Combat the Overdose Crisis (DDRC)-funded center at the University of Alabama and will serve as both a model and technical advisors to translate this model to other regions in the United States.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.046

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24—
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.046. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Places named in the notice

Alabama

Derived from the notice text. A place being named does not by itself restrict eligibility.

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 23 Drug Data Research Center to Combat the Overdose Crisis”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY 23 Drug Data Research Center to Combat the Overdose Crisis”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1.98m.

How do I apply for “BJA FY 23 Drug Data Research Center to Combat the Overdose Crisis”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2023-171649), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.585

BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today