Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2025-172484

BJA FY25 Veterans Treatment Court Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY25 Veterans Treatment Court Program is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was April 27, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $2.5M. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations and 1 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.043 (Veterans Treatment Court Discretionary Grant Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Mar 18, 2026
Close date
Apr 27, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,500,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Categories 1 and 2: Other units of local government, Category 3: State agencies

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This NOFO will support the implementation and enhancement of veterans treatment court (VTC) operations. VTCs connect justice-involved veterans to treatment for substance use disorders (SUD), mental health disorders (MHD), co-occurring mental health and substance use disorders (MHSUD), post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and traumatic brain injury (TBI). Funding supports service coordination, and recovery support services. VTCs integrate mandatory drug testing, incentives and sanctions, and transitional services in judicially supervised criminal court settings that have jurisdiction over veterans with behavioral health treatment needs. These courts aim to reduce recidivism and overdose fatalities, while increasing access to treatment and recovery support that leads to long-term recovery.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.043

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$23.5M
FY25$2M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.043. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY25 Veterans Treatment Court Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY25 Veterans Treatment Court Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2.5m.

How do I apply for “BJA FY25 Veterans Treatment Court Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2025-172484), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
Closes todayALN 16.076
Award range
Up to $3M
Closes
Oct 8, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today