Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2025-172542

BJA FY25 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program – Local Formula

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY25 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program – Local Formula is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was May 20, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $4.1M, with about 1,230 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include county governments, city or township governments, special district governments and federally recognized tribal governments. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.738 (Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Mar 13, 2026
Close date
May 20, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$4,098,693
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
1,230
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Mandatory

Who can apply

  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

OJP is committed to advancing work that furthers DOJ’s mission to uphold the rule of law, to keep our country safe, and to protect civil rights. OJP provides federal leadership, funding, and other critical resources to directly support law enforcement, combat violent crime, protect American children, provide services to American crime victims, and address public safety challenges, including human trafficking and the opioid crisis. With this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO), BJA seeks to award Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program funds to eligible units of local government and tribal governments. Prospective applicants should check the FY25 JAG allocations to determine if they are eligible to receive direct JAG funding from BJA prior to starting an application: https://bja.ojp.gov/program/jag/allocations. For more information on the JAG Program, please see: https://bja.ojp.gov/program/jag/overview.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.738

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$340M
FY25$298M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.738. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments and Federally recognized tribal governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $4.1m and the agency expects to make about 1,230 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2025-172542), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

Closes todayALN 16.076
Award range
Up to $3M
Closes
Oct 8, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.036
Award range
Up to $750K
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today